Math 3B Final Review

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Math 3B Final Review"

Transcription

1 Mth 3B Finl Review Written by Victori Kl SH 6432u Office Hours: R 9:45-10:45m SH 1607 Mth Lb Hours: TR 1-2pm Lst updted: 12/06/14 This is continution of the midterm review. Prctice problems re locted in seprte documents. You will be expected to know the formule nd how to use them. I highly recommend completing your homework before the finl. Here re some things you should know how to do: Know how to evlute n integrl using integrtion by prts Know how to evlute n integrl filled with plethor of trigonometric functions Know how to evlute n integrl using trigonometric substitution Know how to evlute n integrl using prtil frction decomposition Know how to evlute n integrl by recognizing its form (strtegies for integrtion) Know how to evlute n improper integrl Know how to use the Comprison Theorem to decide if n integrl is convergent or divergent Know how to find the length of curve Know how to find the surfce re of curve Know how to find the Tylor Polynomil or Series of function Integrtion by Prts The following is the integrtion by prts formul: udv = uv vdu A helpful mnemonic device to remember this formul is the sying ultrviolet voodoo. To determine wht function you should choose for u is helpful by nother mnemonic LIATE: Logrithmic, Inverse Trig, Algebric, Trig, Exponentil. Whenever you hve n integrl of the form r(x)dx where is polynomil nd r(x) is repetitive function (i.e. e x, sin x, cos x, sinh x, cosh x, etc.), it is helpful to integrte by prts using the tbulr method. 1

2 7.2 - Trigonometric Integrls Trig integrls re usully mixed. For exmple, you my see integrls with sine nd cosine, tngent nd secnt, cotngent nd cosecnt. Most of the time you will use u substitution nd simplify your integrl using trig identities. Note: whenever you hve sin n xdx or cos n xdx where n is n even number, you will need to use the hlf ngle identity. Here re some trig identities listed below: sin 2 x + cos 2 x = 1 tn 2 x + 1 = sec 2 x 1 + cot 2 x = csc 2 x sin 2x = 2 sin x cos x cos 2x = cos 2 x sin 2 x = 2 cos 2 x 1 = 1 2 sin 2 x cos 2 x = 1 (1 + cos 2x) 2 sin 2 x = 1 (1 cos 2x) 2 sin(a ± B) = sin A cos B ± sin B cos A cos(a ± B) = cos A cos B sin A sin B Trigonometric Substitution Trig substitutions re clled n inverse substitution. It my pper t first tht these substitutions mke the integrl more complicted, but by using trig identities, the integrl ctully becomes lot simpler. To use trig substitution, you need to choose x, then find dx, nd substitute both into your integrl. Here is summry of wht trig substitutions to use in wht scenrio: 2 x 2 = x = sin θ 2 + x 2 = x = tn θ x2 2 = x = sec θ 2

3 7.4 - Integrtion of Rtionl Function by Prtil Frctions A rtionl function f(x) = q(x) where nd q(x) 0 re polynomils. To evlute n integrl of the form q(x) dx we need to use prtil frction decomposition on q(x). Steps for prtil frction decomposition on q(x) : 1. Mke sure deg < deg q(x). (If, however, deg deg q(x), use long division first to mke sure the degree of the top polynomil is less thn the degree of the bottom.) 2. Fctor q(x). (By the Fundmentl Theorem of Algebr, q(x) cn be fctored into liner or irreducible qudrtic fctors.) 3. Write out the prtil frction decomposition using the fctors of q(x) nd the cses below: I. If q(x) hs distinct liner fctors, i.e., q(x) = ( 1 x b 1 )( 2 x b 2 ) ( n x b n ) where n, then where A 1, A 2,..., A n re constnts. q(x) = A 1 A 2 A n x b 1 2 x b 2 n x b n II. If q(x) hs distinct irreducible qudrtic fctors, i.e. q(x) = ( 1 x 2 + b 1 x + c 1 )( 2 x 2 + b 2 x + c 2 ) ( n x 2 + b n x + c n ), then q(x) = A 1 x + B 1 A 2 x + B 2 A n x + B n 1 x b 1 x + c 1 2 x b 2 x + c 2 n x 2 + b n x + c n where A 1, A 2,..., A n, B 1, B 2,..., B n re constnts. III. If q(x) hs repeted liner fctors, i.e., q(x) = (x b) n, then where A 1, A 2,..., A n re constnts. q(x) = A 1 x b + A 2 (x b) A n (x b) n IV. If q(x) hs repeted qudrtic fctors, i.e., q(x) = (x 2 + bx + c) n, then q(x) = A 1x + B 1 x 2 + bx + c + A 2 x + B 2 (x 2 + bx + c) A nx + B n (x 2 + bx + c) n where A 1, A 2,..., A n, B 1, B 2,..., B n re constnts. V. q(x) my be mix of Cses I - IV. How fun! 4. Solve for the constnts in the numertors of the prtil frction decomposition. 5. Integrte q(x) dx using the prtil frction decomposition. Your nswer will most likely hve inverse tngent nd/or nturl log in your nswer. Note: You don t need to memorize exctly wht it is bove, but you should intuitively know wht to do when you see prtil frctions, i.e., if you see liner fctor just constnt goes on top, wheres if it is qudrtic fctor something like Ax + B goes on top. 3

4 7.5 - Strtegies for Integrtion There is very helpful tble of integrtion formuls on pge 495 of your textbook. You should know formuls 1-12, 15, 16 by hert. The other formuls you cn derive using u-substitutions nd trig substitutions. Here re some helpful questions to sk yourself when deciding how to evlute n integrl: 1. Cn I simplify the integrl? Try distributing terms, see if stuff cncels out, etc. 2. Cn I use u-substitution? Try it out, nd if it doesn t work then try something else. 3. Does my integrl hve... () Two different types of functions multiplied (mybe with ln x, e x,...)? Try integrtion by prts. (b) Trig functions? Try rewriting the integrl in wy where you cn use u-substitution or hlf ngle identity. (c) Rdicls, irreducible qudrtics or both? Use trig substitution. This my involve completing the squre. (d) Rtionl frctions? Use prtil frction decomposition then try nd integrte. You my need to use trig substitution if it involves irreducible qudrtics. Sometimes your first ttempt t solving n integrl my not be successful, so try it gin nother wy. The more you prctice the clerer the steps t solving integrls will become Improper Integrls Improper integrls ren t tht different from wht we hve been studying, the only difference is tht we need to split them up in certin wy nd pply limit. There re two types of improper integrls: 1. Infinite Integrls () Rewrite f(x) dx s lim t t f(x) dx. (b) Rewrite f(x) dx s lim t f(x) dx. t (c) Rewrite f(x) dx s f(x) dx + f(x) dx where is ny rel number (you decide). Then pply () nd (b) bove. 2. Discontinuous Integrls () If f(x) is discontinuous t b, then rewrite b f(x) dx s lim t t b f(x) dx. (b) If f(x) is discontinuous t, then rewrite b f(x) dx s lim b t + f(x) dx. t (c) If f(x) is discontinuous t c where < c < b, then rewrite b f(x) dx s c f(x) dx + b f(x) dx. Then pply () nd (b) bove. c 4

5 If the limit exists (not infinite), then the integrl is convergent. If the limit does not exist (infinite), then the integrl is divergent. We cn lso mke use of the Comprison Theorem: If 0 g(x) f(x) where f nd g re continuous for x, then: () If (b) If f(x) dx is convergent, then g(x) dx is convergent. g(x) dx is divergent, then f(x) dx is divergent Arc Length If f is continuous on [, b], then the length of the curve y = f(x), x b is b b ( ) 2 L = 1 + [f dy (x)] 2 dx = 1 + dx dx Both of the bove equtions re the sme. It is similr for functions of y where x = g(y), c y d: d d L = 1 + [g (y)] 2 dy = Are of Surfce of Revolution c c ( ) 2 dx dy dy If we rotte curve bout the x-xis, then the surfce re is given by S = 2πy ds where ds = 1 + (dy/dx) 2 dx or ds = 1 + (dx/dy) 2 dy. You pick ds depending on wht bounds you re given. For exmple, if you re told x b, then you would pick the first option. About the y-xis, the surfce re is given by S = 2πx ds Tylor Series (k Tylor Polynomils) If you would like to red more bout Tylor Polynomils, I would suggest reding Section of your textbook nd/or the chpter the professor uploded on GuchoSpce. (Wrning: my red little bit hevy since you hven t covered much mteril on series.) 5

6 The Tylor Polynomil T n (x) of function f(x) centered bout is given by T n (x) = f() + f () 1! (x ) 1 + f () 2! (x ) f (n) () (x ) n n! The lrger the n, the better T n (x) will pproximte f(x). In fct, the Tylor Series is given by f(x) = n=0 We cn estimte the error using Tylor s inequlity: f (n) () (x ) n n! R n (x) M (n + 1)! x n+1 where f (n+1) M We cn lso use Binomil Series to estimte some functions. If k is ny rel number nd x < 1, then ( ) k (1 + x) k = x n k(k 1) = 1 + kx + x 2 k(k 1)(k 2) + x n 2! 3! n=0 6

Math 113 Exam 2 Practice

Math 113 Exam 2 Practice Mth Em Prctice Februry, 8 Em will cover sections 6.5, 7.-7.5 nd 7.8. This sheet hs three sections. The first section will remind you bout techniques nd formuls tht you should know. The second gives number

More information

If u = g(x) is a differentiable function whose range is an interval I and f is continuous on I, then f(g(x))g (x) dx = f(u) du

If u = g(x) is a differentiable function whose range is an interval I and f is continuous on I, then f(g(x))g (x) dx = f(u) du Integrtion by Substitution: The Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus demonstrted the importnce of being ble to find nti-derivtives. We now introduce some methods for finding ntiderivtives: If u = g(x) is differentible

More information

Math 100 Review Sheet

Math 100 Review Sheet Mth 100 Review Sheet Joseph H. Silvermn December 2010 This outline of Mth 100 is summry of the mteril covered in the course. It is designed to be study id, but it is only n outline nd should be used s

More information

Math 113 Exam 2 Practice

Math 113 Exam 2 Practice Mth 3 Exm Prctice Februry 8, 03 Exm will cover 7.4, 7.5, 7.7, 7.8, 8.-3 nd 8.5. Plese note tht integrtion skills lerned in erlier sections will still be needed for the mteril in 7.5, 7.8 nd chpter 8. This

More information

Math 113 Exam 1-Review

Math 113 Exam 1-Review Mth 113 Exm 1-Review September 26, 2016 Exm 1 covers 6.1-7.3 in the textbook. It is dvisble to lso review the mteril from 5.3 nd 5.5 s this will be helpful in solving some of the problems. 6.1 Are Between

More information

20 MATHEMATICS POLYNOMIALS

20 MATHEMATICS POLYNOMIALS 0 MATHEMATICS POLYNOMIALS.1 Introduction In Clss IX, you hve studied polynomils in one vrible nd their degrees. Recll tht if p(x) is polynomil in x, the highest power of x in p(x) is clled the degree of

More information

Improper Integrals. Introduction. Type 1: Improper Integrals on Infinite Intervals. When we defined the definite integral.

Improper Integrals. Introduction. Type 1: Improper Integrals on Infinite Intervals. When we defined the definite integral. Improper Integrls Introduction When we defined the definite integrl f d we ssumed tht f ws continuous on [, ] where [, ] ws finite, closed intervl There re t lest two wys this definition cn fil to e stisfied:

More information

Math 360: A primitive integral and elementary functions

Math 360: A primitive integral and elementary functions Mth 360: A primitive integrl nd elementry functions D. DeTurck University of Pennsylvni October 16, 2017 D. DeTurck Mth 360 001 2017C: Integrl/functions 1 / 32 Setup for the integrl prtitions Definition:

More information

2 b. , a. area is S= 2π xds. Again, understand where these formulas came from (pages ).

2 b. , a. area is S= 2π xds. Again, understand where these formulas came from (pages ). AP Clculus BC Review Chpter 8 Prt nd Chpter 9 Things to Know nd Be Ale to Do Know everything from the first prt of Chpter 8 Given n integrnd figure out how to ntidifferentite it using ny of the following

More information

MATH 1080: Calculus of One Variable II Fall 2017 Textbook: Single Variable Calculus: Early Transcendentals, 7e, by James Stewart.

MATH 1080: Calculus of One Variable II Fall 2017 Textbook: Single Variable Calculus: Early Transcendentals, 7e, by James Stewart. MATH 1080: Clculus of One Vrile II Fll 2017 Textook: Single Vrile Clculus: Erly Trnscendentls, 7e, y Jmes Stewrt Unit 2 Skill Set Importnt: Students should expect test questions tht require synthesis of

More information

RAM RAJYA MORE, SIWAN. XI th, XII th, TARGET IIT-JEE (MAIN + ADVANCE) & COMPATETIVE EXAM FOR XII (PQRS) INDEFINITE INTERATION & Their Properties

RAM RAJYA MORE, SIWAN. XI th, XII th, TARGET IIT-JEE (MAIN + ADVANCE) & COMPATETIVE EXAM FOR XII (PQRS) INDEFINITE INTERATION & Their Properties M.Sc. (Mths), B.Ed, M.Phil (Mths) MATHEMATICS Mob. : 947084408 9546359990 M.Sc. (Mths), B.Ed, M.Phil (Mths) RAM RAJYA MORE, SIWAN XI th, XII th, TARGET IIT-JEE (MAIN + ADVANCE) & COMPATETIVE EXAM FOR XII

More information

MATH 222 Second Semester Calculus. Fall 2015

MATH 222 Second Semester Calculus. Fall 2015 MATH Second Semester Clculus Fll 5 Typeset:August, 5 Mth nd Semester Clculus Lecture notes version. (Fll 5) This is self contined set of lecture notes for Mth. The notes were written by Sigurd Angenent,

More information

Lecture 1. Functional series. Pointwise and uniform convergence.

Lecture 1. Functional series. Pointwise and uniform convergence. 1 Introduction. Lecture 1. Functionl series. Pointwise nd uniform convergence. In this course we study mongst other things Fourier series. The Fourier series for periodic function f(x) with period 2π is

More information

The final exam will take place on Friday May 11th from 8am 11am in Evans room 60.

The final exam will take place on Friday May 11th from 8am 11am in Evans room 60. Mth 104: finl informtion The finl exm will tke plce on Fridy My 11th from 8m 11m in Evns room 60. The exm will cover ll prts of the course with equl weighting. It will cover Chpters 1 5, 7 15, 17 21, 23

More information

Notes on Calculus II Integral Calculus. Miguel A. Lerma

Notes on Calculus II Integral Calculus. Miguel A. Lerma Notes on Clculus II Integrl Clculus Miguel A. Lerm November 22, 22 Contents Introduction 5 Chpter. Integrls 6.. Ares nd Distnces. The Definite Integrl 6.2. The Evlution Theorem.3. The Fundmentl Theorem

More information

B Veitch. Calculus I Study Guide

B Veitch. Calculus I Study Guide Clculus I Stuy Guie This stuy guie is in no wy exhustive. As stte in clss, ny type of question from clss, quizzes, exms, n homeworks re fir gme. There s no informtion here bout the wor problems. 1. Some

More information

Improper Integrals. The First Fundamental Theorem of Calculus, as we ve discussed in class, goes as follows:

Improper Integrals. The First Fundamental Theorem of Calculus, as we ve discussed in class, goes as follows: Improper Integrls The First Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus, s we ve discussed in clss, goes s follows: If f is continuous on the intervl [, ] nd F is function for which F t = ft, then ftdt = F F. An integrl

More information

Precalculus Spring 2017

Precalculus Spring 2017 Preclculus Spring 2017 Exm 3 Summry (Section 4.1 through 5.2, nd 9.4) Section P.5 Find domins of lgebric expressions Simplify rtionl expressions Add, subtrct, multiply, & divide rtionl expressions Simplify

More information

NUMERICAL INTEGRATION. The inverse process to differentiation in calculus is integration. Mathematically, integration is represented by.

NUMERICAL INTEGRATION. The inverse process to differentiation in calculus is integration. Mathematically, integration is represented by. NUMERICAL INTEGRATION 1 Introduction The inverse process to differentition in clculus is integrtion. Mthemticlly, integrtion is represented by f(x) dx which stnds for the integrl of the function f(x) with

More information

We know that if f is a continuous nonnegative function on the interval [a, b], then b

We know that if f is a continuous nonnegative function on the interval [a, b], then b 1 Ares Between Curves c 22 Donld Kreider nd Dwight Lhr We know tht if f is continuous nonnegtive function on the intervl [, b], then f(x) dx is the re under the grph of f nd bove the intervl. We re going

More information

SOLUTIONS FOR ADMISSIONS TEST IN MATHEMATICS, COMPUTER SCIENCE AND JOINT SCHOOLS WEDNESDAY 5 NOVEMBER 2014

SOLUTIONS FOR ADMISSIONS TEST IN MATHEMATICS, COMPUTER SCIENCE AND JOINT SCHOOLS WEDNESDAY 5 NOVEMBER 2014 SOLUTIONS FOR ADMISSIONS TEST IN MATHEMATICS, COMPUTER SCIENCE AND JOINT SCHOOLS WEDNESDAY 5 NOVEMBER 014 Mrk Scheme: Ech prt of Question 1 is worth four mrks which re wrded solely for the correct nswer.

More information

Using integration tables

Using integration tables Using integrtion tbles Integrtion tbles re inclue in most mth tetbooks, n vilble on the Internet. Using them is nother wy to evlute integrls. Sometimes the use is strightforwr; sometimes it tkes severl

More information

different methods (left endpoint, right endpoint, midpoint, trapezoid, Simpson s).

different methods (left endpoint, right endpoint, midpoint, trapezoid, Simpson s). Mth 1A with Professor Stnkov Worksheet, Discussion #41; Wednesdy, 12/6/217 GSI nme: Roy Zho Problems 1. Write the integrl 3 dx s limit of Riemnn sums. Write it using 2 intervls using the 1 x different

More information

The Wave Equation I. MA 436 Kurt Bryan

The Wave Equation I. MA 436 Kurt Bryan 1 Introduction The Wve Eqution I MA 436 Kurt Bryn Consider string stretching long the x xis, of indeterminte (or even infinite!) length. We wnt to derive n eqution which models the motion of the string

More information

Chapter 1 - Functions and Variables

Chapter 1 - Functions and Variables Business Clculus 1 Chpter 1 - Functions nd Vribles This Acdemic Review is brought to you free of chrge by preptests4u.com. Any sle or trde of this review is strictly prohibited. Business Clculus 1 Ch 1:

More information

Best Approximation. Chapter The General Case

Best Approximation. Chapter The General Case Chpter 4 Best Approximtion 4.1 The Generl Cse In the previous chpter, we hve seen how n interpolting polynomil cn be used s n pproximtion to given function. We now wnt to find the best pproximtion to given

More information

Lecture 3. Limits of Functions and Continuity

Lecture 3. Limits of Functions and Continuity Lecture 3 Limits of Functions nd Continuity Audrey Terrs April 26, 21 1 Limits of Functions Notes I m skipping the lst section of Chpter 6 of Lng; the section bout open nd closed sets We cn probbly live

More information

Calculus II Practice Test Problems for Chapter 7 Page 1 of 6

Calculus II Practice Test Problems for Chapter 7 Page 1 of 6 Calculus II Practice Test Problems for Chapter 7 Page of 6 This is a set of practice test problems for Chapter 7. This is in no way an inclusive set of problems there can be other types of problems on

More information

Not for reproduction

Not for reproduction AREA OF A SURFACE OF REVOLUTION cut h FIGURE FIGURE πr r r l h FIGURE A surfce of revolution is formed when curve is rotted bout line. Such surfce is the lterl boundry of solid of revolution of the type

More information

UNIFORM CONVERGENCE MA 403: REAL ANALYSIS, INSTRUCTOR: B. V. LIMAYE

UNIFORM CONVERGENCE MA 403: REAL ANALYSIS, INSTRUCTOR: B. V. LIMAYE UNIFORM CONVERGENCE MA 403: REAL ANALYSIS, INSTRUCTOR: B. V. LIMAYE 1. Pointwise Convergence of Sequence Let E be set nd Y be metric spce. Consider functions f n : E Y for n = 1, 2,.... We sy tht the sequence

More information

APPM 1360 Exam 2 Spring 2016

APPM 1360 Exam 2 Spring 2016 APPM 6 Em Spring 6. 8 pts, 7 pts ech For ech of the following prts, let f + nd g 4. For prts, b, nd c, set up, but do not evlute, the integrl needed to find the requested informtion. The volume of the

More information

Summer MTH142 College Calculus 2. Section J. Lecture Notes. Yin Su University at Buffalo

Summer MTH142 College Calculus 2. Section J. Lecture Notes. Yin Su University at Buffalo Summer 6 MTH4 College Clculus Section J Lecture Notes Yin Su University t Bufflo yinsu@bufflo.edu Contents Bsic techniques of integrtion 3. Antiderivtive nd indefinite integrls..............................................

More information

63. Representation of functions as power series Consider a power series. ( 1) n x 2n for all 1 < x < 1

63. Representation of functions as power series Consider a power series. ( 1) n x 2n for all 1 < x < 1 3 9. SEQUENCES AND SERIES 63. Representtion of functions s power series Consider power series x 2 + x 4 x 6 + x 8 + = ( ) n x 2n It is geometric series with q = x 2 nd therefore it converges for ll q =

More information

Math 8 Winter 2015 Applications of Integration

Math 8 Winter 2015 Applications of Integration Mth 8 Winter 205 Applictions of Integrtion Here re few importnt pplictions of integrtion. The pplictions you my see on n exm in this course include only the Net Chnge Theorem (which is relly just the Fundmentl

More information

Test , 8.2, 8.4 (density only), 8.5 (work only), 9.1, 9.2 and 9.3 related test 1 material and material from prior classes

Test , 8.2, 8.4 (density only), 8.5 (work only), 9.1, 9.2 and 9.3 related test 1 material and material from prior classes Test 2 8., 8.2, 8.4 (density only), 8.5 (work only), 9., 9.2 nd 9.3 relted test mteril nd mteril from prior clsses Locl to Globl Perspectives Anlyze smll pieces to understnd the big picture. Exmples: numericl

More information

New Expansion and Infinite Series

New Expansion and Infinite Series Interntionl Mthemticl Forum, Vol. 9, 204, no. 22, 06-073 HIKARI Ltd, www.m-hikri.com http://dx.doi.org/0.2988/imf.204.4502 New Expnsion nd Infinite Series Diyun Zhng College of Computer Nnjing University

More information

Polynomial Approximations for the Natural Logarithm and Arctangent Functions. Math 230

Polynomial Approximations for the Natural Logarithm and Arctangent Functions. Math 230 Polynomil Approimtions for the Nturl Logrithm nd Arctngent Functions Mth 23 You recll from first semester clculus how one cn use the derivtive to find n eqution for the tngent line to function t given

More information

MTH 122 Fall 2008 Essex County College Division of Mathematics Handout Version 10 1 October 14, 2008

MTH 122 Fall 2008 Essex County College Division of Mathematics Handout Version 10 1 October 14, 2008 MTH 22 Fll 28 Essex County College Division of Mthemtics Hndout Version October 4, 28 Arc Length Everyone should be fmilir with the distnce formul tht ws introduced in elementry lgebr. It is bsic formul

More information

Chapter 6. Riemann Integral

Chapter 6. Riemann Integral Introduction to Riemnn integrl Chpter 6. Riemnn Integrl Won-Kwng Prk Deprtment of Mthemtics, The College of Nturl Sciences Kookmin University Second semester, 2015 1 / 41 Introduction to Riemnn integrl

More information

REVIEW Chapter 1 The Real Number System

REVIEW Chapter 1 The Real Number System Mth 7 REVIEW Chpter The Rel Number System In clss work: Solve ll exercises. (Sections. &. Definition A set is collection of objects (elements. The Set of Nturl Numbers N N = {,,,, 5, } The Set of Whole

More information

Sections 5.2: The Definite Integral

Sections 5.2: The Definite Integral Sections 5.2: The Definite Integrl In this section we shll formlize the ides from the lst section to functions in generl. We strt with forml definition.. The Definite Integrl Definition.. Suppose f(x)

More information

Anonymous Math 361: Homework 5. x i = 1 (1 u i )

Anonymous Math 361: Homework 5. x i = 1 (1 u i ) Anonymous Mth 36: Homewor 5 Rudin. Let I be the set of ll u (u,..., u ) R with u i for ll i; let Q be the set of ll x (x,..., x ) R with x i, x i. (I is the unit cube; Q is the stndrd simplex in R ). Define

More information

5.5 The Substitution Rule

5.5 The Substitution Rule 5.5 The Substitution Rule Given the usefulness of the Fundmentl Theorem, we wnt some helpful methods for finding ntiderivtives. At the moment, if n nti-derivtive is not esily recognizble, then we re in

More information

u( t) + K 2 ( ) = 1 t > 0 Analyzing Damped Oscillations Problem (Meador, example 2-18, pp 44-48): Determine the equation of the following graph.

u( t) + K 2 ( ) = 1 t > 0 Analyzing Damped Oscillations Problem (Meador, example 2-18, pp 44-48): Determine the equation of the following graph. nlyzing Dmped Oscilltions Prolem (Medor, exmple 2-18, pp 44-48): Determine the eqution of the following grph. The eqution is ssumed to e of the following form f ( t) = K 1 u( t) + K 2 e!"t sin (#t + $

More information

Section 5.1 #7, 10, 16, 21, 25; Section 5.2 #8, 9, 15, 20, 27, 30; Section 5.3 #4, 6, 9, 13, 16, 28, 31; Section 5.4 #7, 18, 21, 23, 25, 29, 40

Section 5.1 #7, 10, 16, 21, 25; Section 5.2 #8, 9, 15, 20, 27, 30; Section 5.3 #4, 6, 9, 13, 16, 28, 31; Section 5.4 #7, 18, 21, 23, 25, 29, 40 Mth B Prof. Audrey Terrs HW # Solutions by Alex Eustis Due Tuesdy, Oct. 9 Section 5. #7,, 6,, 5; Section 5. #8, 9, 5,, 7, 3; Section 5.3 #4, 6, 9, 3, 6, 8, 3; Section 5.4 #7, 8,, 3, 5, 9, 4 5..7 Since

More information

10. AREAS BETWEEN CURVES

10. AREAS BETWEEN CURVES . AREAS BETWEEN CURVES.. Ares etween curves So res ove the x-xis re positive nd res elow re negtive, right? Wrong! We lied! Well, when you first lern out integrtion it s convenient fiction tht s true in

More information

Math 0230 Calculus 2 Lectures

Math 0230 Calculus 2 Lectures Mth Clculus Lectures Chpter 7 Applictions of Integrtion Numertion of sections corresponds to the text Jmes Stewrt, Essentil Clculus, Erly Trnscendentls, Second edition. Section 7. Ares Between Curves Two

More information

Calculus MATH 172-Fall 2017 Lecture Notes

Calculus MATH 172-Fall 2017 Lecture Notes Clculus MATH 172-Fll 2017 Lecture Notes These notes re concise summry of wht hs been covered so fr during the lectures. All the definitions must be memorized nd understood. Sttements of importnt theorems

More information

Lecture 17. Integration: Gauss Quadrature. David Semeraro. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. March 20, 2014

Lecture 17. Integration: Gauss Quadrature. David Semeraro. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. March 20, 2014 Lecture 17 Integrtion: Guss Qudrture Dvid Semerro University of Illinois t Urbn-Chmpign Mrch 0, 014 Dvid Semerro (NCSA) CS 57 Mrch 0, 014 1 / 9 Tody: Objectives identify the most widely used qudrture method

More information

MA Handout 2: Notation and Background Concepts from Analysis

MA Handout 2: Notation and Background Concepts from Analysis MA350059 Hndout 2: Nottion nd Bckground Concepts from Anlysis This hndout summrises some nottion we will use nd lso gives recp of some concepts from other units (MA20023: PDEs nd CM, MA20218: Anlysis 2A,

More information

x ) dx dx x sec x over the interval (, ).

x ) dx dx x sec x over the interval (, ). Curve on 6 For -, () Evlute the integrl, n (b) check your nswer by ifferentiting. ( ). ( ). ( ).. 6. sin cos 7. sec csccot 8. sec (sec tn ) 9. sin csc. Evlute the integrl sin by multiplying the numertor

More information

A. Limits - L Hopital s Rule ( ) How to find it: Try and find limits by traditional methods (plugging in). If you get 0 0 or!!, apply C.! 1 6 C.

A. Limits - L Hopital s Rule ( ) How to find it: Try and find limits by traditional methods (plugging in). If you get 0 0 or!!, apply C.! 1 6 C. A. Limits - L Hopitl s Rule Wht you re finding: L Hopitl s Rule is used to find limits of the form f ( x) lim where lim f x x! c g x ( ) = or lim f ( x) = limg( x) = ". ( ) x! c limg( x) = 0 x! c x! c

More information

FINALTERM EXAMINATION 2011 Calculus &. Analytical Geometry-I

FINALTERM EXAMINATION 2011 Calculus &. Analytical Geometry-I FINALTERM EXAMINATION 011 Clculus &. Anlyticl Geometry-I Question No: 1 { Mrks: 1 ) - Plese choose one If f is twice differentible function t sttionry point x 0 x 0 nd f ''(x 0 ) > 0 then f hs reltive...

More information

13.3 CLASSICAL STRAIGHTEDGE AND COMPASS CONSTRUCTIONS

13.3 CLASSICAL STRAIGHTEDGE AND COMPASS CONSTRUCTIONS 33 CLASSICAL STRAIGHTEDGE AND COMPASS CONSTRUCTIONS As simple ppliction of the results we hve obtined on lgebric extensions, nd in prticulr on the multiplictivity of extension degrees, we cn nswer (in

More information

Mapping the delta function and other Radon measures

Mapping the delta function and other Radon measures Mpping the delt function nd other Rdon mesures Notes for Mth583A, Fll 2008 November 25, 2008 Rdon mesures Consider continuous function f on the rel line with sclr vlues. It is sid to hve bounded support

More information

MA123, Chapter 10: Formulas for integrals: integrals, antiderivatives, and the Fundamental Theorem of Calculus (pp.

MA123, Chapter 10: Formulas for integrals: integrals, antiderivatives, and the Fundamental Theorem of Calculus (pp. MA123, Chpter 1: Formuls for integrls: integrls, ntiderivtives, nd the Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus (pp. 27-233, Gootmn) Chpter Gols: Assignments: Understnd the sttement of the Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus.

More information

Pre-Session Review. Part 1: Basic Algebra; Linear Functions and Graphs

Pre-Session Review. Part 1: Basic Algebra; Linear Functions and Graphs Pre-Session Review Prt 1: Bsic Algebr; Liner Functions nd Grphs A. Generl Review nd Introduction to Algebr Hierrchy of Arithmetic Opertions Opertions in ny expression re performed in the following order:

More information

Lecture 14: Quadrature

Lecture 14: Quadrature Lecture 14: Qudrture This lecture is concerned with the evlution of integrls fx)dx 1) over finite intervl [, b] The integrnd fx) is ssumed to be rel-vlues nd smooth The pproximtion of n integrl by numericl

More information

How do we solve these things, especially when they get complicated? How do we know when a system has a solution, and when is it unique?

How do we solve these things, especially when they get complicated? How do we know when a system has a solution, and when is it unique? XII. LINEAR ALGEBRA: SOLVING SYSTEMS OF EQUATIONS Tody we re going to tlk out solving systems of liner equtions. These re prolems tht give couple of equtions with couple of unknowns, like: 6= x + x 7=

More information

Section 4.8. D v(t j 1 ) t. (4.8.1) j=1

Section 4.8. D v(t j 1 ) t. (4.8.1) j=1 Difference Equtions to Differentil Equtions Section.8 Distnce, Position, nd the Length of Curves Although we motivted the definition of the definite integrl with the notion of re, there re mny pplictions

More information

STEP FUNCTIONS, DELTA FUNCTIONS, AND THE VARIATION OF PARAMETERS FORMULA. 0 if t < 0, 1 if t > 0.

STEP FUNCTIONS, DELTA FUNCTIONS, AND THE VARIATION OF PARAMETERS FORMULA. 0 if t < 0, 1 if t > 0. STEP FUNCTIONS, DELTA FUNCTIONS, AND THE VARIATION OF PARAMETERS FORMULA STEPHEN SCHECTER. The unit step function nd piecewise continuous functions The Heviside unit step function u(t) is given by if t

More information

KOÇ UNIVERSITY MATH 106 FINAL EXAM JANUARY 6, 2013

KOÇ UNIVERSITY MATH 106 FINAL EXAM JANUARY 6, 2013 KOÇ UNIVERSITY MATH 6 FINAL EXAM JANUARY 6, 23 Durtion of Exm: 2 minutes INSTRUCTIONS: No clcultors nd no cell phones my be used on the test. No questions, nd tlking llowed. You must lwys explin your nswers

More information

Line Integrals. Partitioning the Curve. Estimating the Mass

Line Integrals. Partitioning the Curve. Estimating the Mass Line Integrls Suppose we hve curve in the xy plne nd ssocite density δ(p ) = δ(x, y) t ech point on the curve. urves, of course, do not hve density or mss, but it my sometimes be convenient or useful to

More information

Test 3 Review. Jiwen He. I will replace your lowest test score with the percentage grade from the final exam (provided it is higher).

Test 3 Review. Jiwen He. I will replace your lowest test score with the percentage grade from the final exam (provided it is higher). Test 3 Review Jiwen He Test 3 Test 3: Dec. 4-6 in CASA Mteril - Through 6.3. No Homework (Thnksgiving) No homework this week! Hve GREAT Thnksgiving! Finl Exm Finl Exm: Dec. 14-17 in CASA You Might Be Interested

More information

Calculus - Activity 1 Rate of change of a function at a point.

Calculus - Activity 1 Rate of change of a function at a point. Nme: Clss: p 77 Mths Helper Plus Resource Set. Copright 00 Bruce A. Vughn, Techers Choice Softwre Clculus - Activit Rte of chnge of function t point. ) Strt Mths Helper Plus, then lod the file: Clculus

More information

DEFINITION OF ASSOCIATIVE OR DIRECT PRODUCT AND ROTATION OF VECTORS

DEFINITION OF ASSOCIATIVE OR DIRECT PRODUCT AND ROTATION OF VECTORS 3 DEFINITION OF ASSOCIATIVE OR DIRECT PRODUCT AND ROTATION OF VECTORS This chpter summrizes few properties of Cli ord Algebr nd describe its usefulness in e ecting vector rottions. 3.1 De nition of Associtive

More information

6.5 Improper integrals

6.5 Improper integrals Eerpt from "Clulus" 3 AoPS In. www.rtofprolemsolving.om 6.5. IMPROPER INTEGRALS 6.5 Improper integrls As we ve seen, we use the definite integrl R f to ompute the re of the region under the grph of y =

More information

Numerical integration

Numerical integration 2 Numericl integrtion This is pge i Printer: Opque this 2. Introduction Numericl integrtion is problem tht is prt of mny problems in the economics nd econometrics literture. The orgniztion of this chpter

More information

u(t)dt + i a f(t)dt f(t) dt b f(t) dt (2) With this preliminary step in place, we are ready to define integration on a general curve in C.

u(t)dt + i a f(t)dt f(t) dt b f(t) dt (2) With this preliminary step in place, we are ready to define integration on a general curve in C. Lecture 4 Complex Integrtion MATH-GA 2451.001 Complex Vriles 1 Construction 1.1 Integrting complex function over curve in C A nturl wy to construct the integrl of complex function over curve in the complex

More information

Partial Derivatives. Limits. For a single variable function f (x), the limit lim

Partial Derivatives. Limits. For a single variable function f (x), the limit lim Limits Prtil Derivtives For single vrible function f (x), the limit lim x f (x) exists only if the right-hnd side limit equls to the left-hnd side limit, i.e., lim f (x) = lim f (x). x x + For two vribles

More information

MATH 573 FINAL EXAM. May 30, 2007

MATH 573 FINAL EXAM. May 30, 2007 MATH 573 FINAL EXAM My 30, 007 NAME: Solutions 1. This exm is due Wednesdy, June 6 efore the 1:30 pm. After 1:30 pm I will NOT ccept the exm.. This exm hs 1 pges including this cover. There re 10 prolems.

More information

Final Exam Study Guide

Final Exam Study Guide Finl Exm Study Guide Includes. Integrls & Antiderivtive Rules 2. Definite Integrls (Integrls with bounds) 3. Are Between Two Curves - Region Bounded by Two Curves 4. Consumer nd Producer Surplus. U-Substitution.

More information

Euler-Maclaurin Summation Formula 1

Euler-Maclaurin Summation Formula 1 Jnury 9, Euler-Mclurin Summtion Formul Suppose tht f nd its derivtive re continuous functions on the closed intervl [, b]. Let ψ(x) {x}, where {x} x [x] is the frctionl prt of x. Lemm : If < b nd, b Z,

More information

Unit #10 De+inite Integration & The Fundamental Theorem Of Calculus

Unit #10 De+inite Integration & The Fundamental Theorem Of Calculus Unit # De+inite Integrtion & The Fundmentl Theorem Of Clculus. Find the re of the shded region ove nd explin the mening of your nswer. (squres re y units) ) The grph to the right is f(x) = -x + 8x )Use

More information

Homework Assignment 3 Solution Set

Homework Assignment 3 Solution Set Homework Assignment 3 Solution Set PHYCS 44 6 Ferury, 4 Prolem 1 (Griffiths.5(c The potentil due to ny continuous chrge distriution is the sum of the contriutions from ech infinitesiml chrge in the distriution.

More information

Table of Integrals. x n dx = 1 n + 1 xn+1, n 1. 1 dx = ln x x. udv = uv. vdu. 1 ax + b dx = 1 ln ax + b. 1 (x + a) dx = 1. 2 x + a.

Table of Integrals. x n dx = 1 n + 1 xn+1, n 1. 1 dx = ln x x. udv = uv. vdu. 1 ax + b dx = 1 ln ax + b. 1 (x + a) dx = 1. 2 x + a. Tble of Integrls Bsic Forms () n d = n + n+, n () d = ln (3) udv = uv vdu (4) + b d = ln + b Integrls of Rtionl Functions (5) ( + ) d = + (6) ( + ) n d = ( + )n+, n n + (7) ( + ) n d = ( + )n+ ((n + )

More information

Numerical Integration

Numerical Integration Chpter 1 Numericl Integrtion Numericl differentition methods compute pproximtions to the derivtive of function from known vlues of the function. Numericl integrtion uses the sme informtion to compute numericl

More information

Big idea in Calculus: approximation

Big idea in Calculus: approximation Big ide in Clculus: pproximtion Derivtive: f (x) = df dx f f(x +h) f(x) =, x h rte of chnge is pproximtely the rtio of chnges in the function vlue nd in the vrible in very short time Liner pproximtion:

More information

(0.0)(0.1)+(0.3)(0.1)+(0.6)(0.1)+ +(2.7)(0.1) = 1.35

(0.0)(0.1)+(0.3)(0.1)+(0.6)(0.1)+ +(2.7)(0.1) = 1.35 7 Integrtion º½ ÌÛÓ Ü ÑÔÐ Up to now we hve been concerned with extrcting informtion bout how function chnges from the function itself. Given knowledge bout n object s position, for exmple, we wnt to know

More information

Surface Integrals of Vector Fields

Surface Integrals of Vector Fields Mth 32B iscussion ession Week 7 Notes Februry 21 nd 23, 2017 In lst week s notes we introduced surfce integrls, integrting sclr-vlued functions over prmetrized surfces. As with our previous integrls, we

More information

Matrix Eigenvalues and Eigenvectors September 13, 2017

Matrix Eigenvalues and Eigenvectors September 13, 2017 Mtri Eigenvlues nd Eigenvectors September, 7 Mtri Eigenvlues nd Eigenvectors Lrry Cretto Mechnicl Engineering 5A Seminr in Engineering Anlysis September, 7 Outline Review lst lecture Definition of eigenvlues

More information

Lecture 6: Singular Integrals, Open Quadrature rules, and Gauss Quadrature

Lecture 6: Singular Integrals, Open Quadrature rules, and Gauss Quadrature Lecture notes on Vritionl nd Approximte Methods in Applied Mthemtics - A Peirce UBC Lecture 6: Singulr Integrls, Open Qudrture rules, nd Guss Qudrture (Compiled 6 August 7) In this lecture we discuss the

More information

The problems that follow illustrate the methods covered in class. They are typical of the types of problems that will be on the tests.

The problems that follow illustrate the methods covered in class. They are typical of the types of problems that will be on the tests. ADVANCED CALCULUS PRACTICE PROBLEMS JAMES KEESLING The problems tht follow illustrte the methods covered in clss. They re typicl of the types of problems tht will be on the tests. 1. Riemnn Integrtion

More information

approaches as n becomes larger and larger. Since e > 1, the graph of the natural exponential function is as below

approaches as n becomes larger and larger. Since e > 1, the graph of the natural exponential function is as below . Eponentil nd rithmic functions.1 Eponentil Functions A function of the form f() =, > 0, 1 is clled n eponentil function. Its domin is the set of ll rel f ( 1) numbers. For n eponentil function f we hve.

More information

MATH STUDENT BOOK. 10th Grade Unit 5

MATH STUDENT BOOK. 10th Grade Unit 5 MATH STUDENT BOOK 10th Grde Unit 5 Unit 5 Similr Polygons MATH 1005 Similr Polygons INTRODUCTION 3 1. PRINCIPLES OF ALGEBRA 5 RATIOS AND PROPORTIONS 5 PROPERTIES OF PROPORTIONS 11 SELF TEST 1 16 2. SIMILARITY

More information

38 Riemann sums and existence of the definite integral.

38 Riemann sums and existence of the definite integral. 38 Riemnn sums nd existence of the definite integrl. In the clcultion of the re of the region X bounded by the grph of g(x) = x 2, the x-xis nd 0 x b, two sums ppered: ( n (k 1) 2) b 3 n 3 re(x) ( n These

More information

Continuous Random Variables

Continuous Random Variables STAT/MATH 395 A - PROBABILITY II UW Winter Qurter 217 Néhémy Lim Continuous Rndom Vribles Nottion. The indictor function of set S is rel-vlued function defined by : { 1 if x S 1 S (x) if x S Suppose tht

More information

Linear Systems with Constant Coefficients

Linear Systems with Constant Coefficients Liner Systems with Constnt Coefficients 4-3-05 Here is system of n differentil equtions in n unknowns: x x + + n x n, x x + + n x n, x n n x + + nn x n This is constnt coefficient liner homogeneous system

More information

Farey Fractions. Rickard Fernström. U.U.D.M. Project Report 2017:24. Department of Mathematics Uppsala University

Farey Fractions. Rickard Fernström. U.U.D.M. Project Report 2017:24. Department of Mathematics Uppsala University U.U.D.M. Project Report 07:4 Frey Frctions Rickrd Fernström Exmensrete i mtemtik, 5 hp Hledre: Andres Strömergsson Exmintor: Jörgen Östensson Juni 07 Deprtment of Mthemtics Uppsl University Frey Frctions

More information

Practice final exam solutions

Practice final exam solutions University of Pennsylvni Deprtment of Mthemtics Mth 26 Honors Clculus II Spring Semester 29 Prof. Grssi, T.A. Asher Auel Prctice finl exm solutions 1. Let F : 2 2 be defined by F (x, y (x + y, x y. If

More information

Czechoslovak Mathematical Journal, 55 (130) (2005), , Abbotsford. 1. Introduction

Czechoslovak Mathematical Journal, 55 (130) (2005), , Abbotsford. 1. Introduction Czechoslovk Mthemticl Journl, 55 (130) (2005), 933 940 ESTIMATES OF THE REMAINDER IN TAYLOR S THEOREM USING THE HENSTOCK-KURZWEIL INTEGRAL, Abbotsford (Received Jnury 22, 2003) Abstrct. When rel-vlued

More information

Calculus Cheat Sheet. Integrals Definitions. where F( x ) is an anti-derivative of f ( x ). Fundamental Theorem of Calculus. dx = f x dx g x dx

Calculus Cheat Sheet. Integrals Definitions. where F( x ) is an anti-derivative of f ( x ). Fundamental Theorem of Calculus. dx = f x dx g x dx Clulus Chet Sheet Integrls Definitions Definite Integrl: Suppose f ( ) is ontinuous Anti-Derivtive : An nti-derivtive of f ( ) on [, ]. Divide [, ] into n suintervls of is funtion, F( ), suh tht F = f.

More information

l 2 p2 n 4n 2, the total surface area of the

l 2 p2 n 4n 2, the total surface area of the Week 6 Lectures Sections 7.5, 7.6 Section 7.5: Surfce re of Revolution Surfce re of Cone: Let C be circle of rdius r. Let P n be n n-sided regulr polygon of perimeter p n with vertices on C. Form cone

More information

1 i n x i x i 1. Note that kqk kp k. In addition, if P and Q are partition of [a, b], P Q is finer than both P and Q.

1 i n x i x i 1. Note that kqk kp k. In addition, if P and Q are partition of [a, b], P Q is finer than both P and Q. Chpter 6 Integrtion In this chpter we define the integrl. Intuitively, it should be the re under curve. Not surprisingly, fter mny exmples, counter exmples, exceptions, generliztions, the concept of the

More information

MATH34032: Green s Functions, Integral Equations and the Calculus of Variations 1

MATH34032: Green s Functions, Integral Equations and the Calculus of Variations 1 MATH34032: Green s Functions, Integrl Equtions nd the Clculus of Vritions 1 Section 1 Function spces nd opertors Here we gives some brief detils nd definitions, prticulrly relting to opertors. For further

More information

Problem Set 9. Figure 1: Diagram. This picture is a rough sketch of the 4 parabolas that give us the area that we need to find. The equations are:

Problem Set 9. Figure 1: Diagram. This picture is a rough sketch of the 4 parabolas that give us the area that we need to find. The equations are: (x + y ) = y + (x + y ) = x + Problem Set 9 Discussion: Nov., Nov. 8, Nov. (on probbility nd binomil coefficients) The nme fter the problem is the designted writer of the solution of tht problem. (No one

More information

5.2 Volumes: Disks and Washers

5.2 Volumes: Disks and Washers 4 pplictions of definite integrls 5. Volumes: Disks nd Wshers In the previous section, we computed volumes of solids for which we could determine the re of cross-section or slice. In this section, we restrict

More information

Physics 9 Fall 2011 Homework 2 - Solutions Friday September 2, 2011

Physics 9 Fall 2011 Homework 2 - Solutions Friday September 2, 2011 Physics 9 Fll 0 Homework - s Fridy September, 0 Mke sure your nme is on your homework, nd plese box your finl nswer. Becuse we will be giving prtil credit, be sure to ttempt ll the problems, even if you

More information

Midpoint Approximation

Midpoint Approximation Midpoint Approximtion Sometimes, we need to pproximte n integrl of the form R b f (x)dx nd we cnnot find n ntiderivtive in order to evlute the integrl. Also we my need to evlute R b f (x)dx where we do

More information