Calculus I-II Review Sheet

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Calculus I-II Review Sheet"

Transcription

1 Clculus I-II Review Sheet 1 Definitions 1.1 Functions A function is f is incresing on n intervl if x y implies f(x) f(y), nd decresing if x y implies f(x) f(y). It is clled monotonic if it is either incresing or decresing on its entire domin. Exmple 1.1 e x is incresing on (, ) nd ln x is incresing on (0, ). f(x) = 1/x is decresing on (, 0) nd on (0, ). The sine function is incresing on [ π/, π/], [3π/, 5π/], etc. A function f(x) is proportionl to nother function g(x) if there is nonzero constnt k such tht f(x) = kg(x). Exmple 1. The force of grvity F between two msses M nd m is proportionl to the inverse squre function of the distnce between them, r, nmely Here k = GMm nd g(r) = 1/r. F = GMm r The grph of function f is concve up if it bends upwrd s we move from left to right, tht is if, when we pick two points (x 1, y 1 ) nd (x, y ) on the grph of f, the grph lies below or on the line segment joining those points on tht intevl. Similrly, the grph of f is concve down if it bends downwrd, or if the grph of f lies bove or on ny line segment joining two points on its grph. An inflection point is point (x, f(x)) on the grph of f t which the grph chnges concvity (or equivlently just the x vlue of tht point). Exmple 1.3 The cosine function is concve up on [ π, 3π ] nd concve down on [ π, π ], etc. It hs inflection points t odd multiples of π/. A function f is sid to be even if f( x) = f(x) nd odd if f( x) = f(x). Even functions re symmetric bout the y-xis, while odd ones re symmetric bout the origin. Exmple 1.4 The cosine function is even, f(x) = x is even, nd f(x) = e 3x is even, while the sine function is odd, f(x) = x 3 is odd, nd f(x) = rctn(x) is odd. 1. Limits nd Continuity Suppose f is defined on n intervl round given rel number c, except perhps t x = c itself. The limit of f s x pproches given rel number c is rel number L stisfying the following condition: for ll ɛ > 0 there is δ > 0 such tht x c < δ nd x c 1

2 implies In this cse we write f(x) L < ɛ lim f(x) = L Remrk 1.5 In plin English, this mens tht the limit L exists provided the following holds: however smll I wnt to mke my ɛ-window on the y-xis round L, I cn find smll enough δ-window on the x-xis round c which is mpped by f entirely into the ɛ-window. Remrk 1.6 Note the logicl implictions: I hve freedom to choose ɛ. I cn choose it to be one in billion, whtever I wnt. But once chosen, I m typiclly restricted in my choice of δ. For exmple, if f(x) = x nd L = 100, then clerly c = 10, nd to show tht the limit s x pproches 10 is 100, I need to find δ for ny given ɛ. Suppose I ve chosen my ɛ, sy ɛ = 1/1000. Then you cn check tht good enough δ is δ = 1/1000. It s not the only one, since I cn pick it to be smller thn this, but I m restricted by how big I cn mke it. It cn t be much bigger thn tht. Remrk 1.7 Note lso tht the definition of limit includes bsolute vlues round x c. We write x c nd this implies the existence nd equlity of the left nd right limits, lim f(x) nd lim f(x) + respectively. Exmple 1.8 The function f(x) = x 1 x 1 hs left nd right limits s x pproches 1, but the two limits re not equl. Hence f hs no limit t x = 1. We cn nlogously define lim f(x) x ± The difference is we cn t use the δ prt of the definition. The ɛ prt is the sme, we cn choose ny ɛ > 0 such tht f(x) L < ɛ under some pproprite condition on x. It s just tht condition cn t be the existence of δ such tht x c < δ (becuse c = nd x =, which is never less thn δ), so insted we demnd the existence of n M > 0 such tht x M implies f(x) L < δ. A function f is continuous t point x = c if the limit lim f(x) = L exists nd moreover L = f(c), i.e. if lim f(x) = f(c) We sy f is continuous on n intervl [, b] or (, b), etc., if it is continuous t ll points in tht intervl. Exmple 1.9 All polynomils re continuous on (, ). All rtionl functions p(x)/q(x) re continuous except t zeros of q(x). For exmple, x +3 x 5 is continuous everywhere except t ± 5. The exponentil function e x is continuous on (, ), the log function ln x is continuous on (0, ). The sine nd consine functions re continuous on (, ). The bsolute vlue function f(x) = x is continuous everywhere on (, ).

3 Discontinuities, or points of discontinuity of f, re x-vlues where f is not continuous. For exmple 0 is point of discontinuity of csc x nd of f(x) = 1/x. A removble discontinuity is one tht cn be plugged, e.g. x = is removble discontinuity of f(x) = x 4 x+. An essentil discontinuity is one tht cnnot be plugged, typiclly becuse f goes to ± ner tht point, for exmple x = 1 is n essentil discontinuity of f(x) = /(x 1). A jump discontinuity is discontinuity where f jumps finite mount ner it, for exmple x = 1 for f(x) = x 1 x Rte of Chnge nd the Derivtive The verge rte of chnge of function f between x = nd x = b is defined to be the slope of the line connecting the points (, f()) nd (b, f(b)) on the grph of f: verge rte of chnge = f(b) f() b If we define h = b, then b = + h, nd the verge rte of chnge between nd b = + h becomes the difference quotient: f( + h) f() h If the limit of the difference quotient s h pproches 0 exists, then we sy tht f is differentible t x = nd we cll this limit the derivtive of f t. It is rel number, denoted equivlently by f () df dy () f( + h) f() dx dx = lim x= h 0 h If f is differentible on n entire intervl, then vrying the point, in other words letting x vry, we get function, the derivtive function f (x). One of our tsks is to find vrious derivtive functions for well-known functions. Exmple 1.10 Common derivtive functions re the following: 1. (x n ) = nx n 1 (power rule). (sin x) = cos x 3. (cos x) = sin x 4. (tn x) = sec x 5. (e x ) = e x 6. (ln x) = 1 x 7. ( x ) = (ln ) x 8. (rctn x) = 1 1+x 9. (rcsin x) = 1 1 x 3

4 Remrk 1.11 To compute more complicted derivtives, such s those of xe x, for exmple, we will need to know how to brek up the process of tking derivtive into severl steps involving only derivtives of things we know how to compute, such s (1)-(6) bove. For exmple, we know how to tke the derivtive of x, x nd e x, nd we will develop methods to compute (xe x ) in terms of these esier ones. This is the content of the sum, product, quotient nd chin rules below. The derivtive f () t x = cn be interpreted s the slope of the tngent line to the grph of f t the point (, f()). Since we hve slope, f (), nd point, (, f()), we cn find the eqution of the tngent line using point-slope: y f() = f ()(x ) Adding f() to both sides gives the eqution for the tngent line, which we lso cll the liner pproximtion to f ner x = or locl lineriztion ner x = : y = f() + f ()(x ) This is the key ide behind the ide of derivtive, to pproximte complicted function f(x) with the simplest one possible, line, t lest loclly. The tngent line is n honest-togoodness pproximtion of f ner x =, becuse we know tht s x, f(x) f() x f (), i.e. from the definition of limit we get f(x) f() x f () f(x) f() f ()(x ) multiply both sides by (x ) f(x) f() + f ()(x ) dd f() to both sides Exmple 1.1 Let us pproximte the vlue of f(x) = e sin x ner x = π using locl lineriztion, sy t x = 3 which is ner x = π. Since f (x) = e sin x cos x, we hve f (π) = e sin π cos π = 1, nd becuse f(π) = e sin π = 1, we get f(x) f(π) + f (π)(x π) = 1 (x π) = 1 + π x Therefore, f(3) 1 + π 3 = π 1.14 The error in the tngent/liner pproximtion is the difference between the ctul vlue f(x) t x nd the pproximte vlue obtined from the tngent line t x ner x = : E(x) = f(x) [ f() + f ()(x ) ] It is theorem, not hrd to prove, tht E(x) lim x x = 0 It is lso fct, not proven in the book until the section on Tylor s theorem, tht E(x) f () (x ) 4

5 Exmple 1.13 The error in the previous exmple is E(x) = f(x) (1 + π x) = e sin x + x 1 π so, for exmple our pproximtion t x = 3 is off by bout E(3) = e sin π Not bd! And, to complete this exmple, note tht f (π) (3 π) = 1 (cos 3e sin 3 (sin 3)e sin 3 )(3 π) which is indeed close to E(3). 1.4 Optimiztion A criticl point of f is point x = where f () = 0, tht is criticl points re zeros of the derivtive of f. Hence, when looking for them you hve to solve the eqution f (x) = 0 for x. The y-vlue of f t criticl point y = f() is clled criticl vlue. Note tht f() 0 in generl it s f () tht equls 0! A locl minimum of f is point x = such tht f(x) f() ner, nd locl mximum of f is point x = such tht f(x) f() ner. These re upgrded to globl minimum nd globl mximum if f(x) f() or f(x) f(), respectively, for ll x in the domin of f under considertion, not just those nerby. 1.5 The Riemnn Integrl Let [, b] be nonempty closed intervl in (, ) nd let f : [, b] (, ) be bounded nd continuous. Let P = ( = x 0 < x 1 < < x n = b) be prtition of [, b], tht is n incresing finite incresing sequence of points in the intervl. For given prtition P choose, for ech i = 0, 1,..., n, n rbitrry t i in [x i 1, x i ]. The Riemnn Sum of f for given prtition P is then defined s S P = n f(t i ) (x i x i 1 ) i=1 If we choose the x i such tht x n x n 1 = x n 1 x n = = x 1 x 0, tht is if x = b n then the Riemnn sum is written simply s nd x i = + i x n S P = f(t i ) x i=1 If we choose the left endpoint every time, t i = x i, then we get the left Riemnn sum, n 1 S L = f(x i ) x i=0 5

6 nd if we choose the right endpoint, t i = x i + 1, then we get the right Riemnn sum, S R = n f(x i ) x i=1 Similrly, we hve the upper nd lower Riemnn sums, U nd L, obtined by choosing t i in [x i, x i+1 ] such tht f(t i ) = mx xi t x i+1 f(t) nd f(t i ) = min xi t x i+1 f(t), respectively (since f is continous, we cn find such t i by the Extreme Vlue Theorem!). We cn lso choose t i to be the midpoint of [x i, x i+1 ], in which cse we obtin the midpoint Riemnn sum. Remrk 1.14 Note tht U does not in generl equl S L or S R, nd likewise with L. A good exmple is the upper hlf of the circle, f(x) = 1 x on [ 1, 1]. Try to compute S L, S R, U nd L. Exmple 1.15 Let us compute the Riemnn sum for f(x) = 1 x on [ 1, 1], nd so obtin severl pproximtions of the upper hlf of the unit circle. Let us choose n = 4 for convenience, which mens x 0 = 1, x 1 = 1, x = 0, x 3 = 1, nd x 4 = 1, nd so P = ( 1, 1, 0, 1, 1) is our prtition of [ 1, 1]. Let us compute the left Riemnn sum first: this mens choosing t i = x i, nd since x = 1 ( 1) 4 = 1, we hve S L = 4 1 f(x i ) x x=0 = f( 1) 1 + f( 1 ) 1 + f(0) 1 + f(1 ) 1 ( 1 = ( 1) + 1 ( 1/) ) 1 (1/) 1 ( ) 3 3 = = Similrly, by choosing t i = x i+1, we get the right sum, S R = 4 1 f(x i+1 ) x x=0 = f( 1/) 1 + f(0) 1 + f(1/) 1 + f(1) 1 ( 1 = ( 1/) (1/) + ) ( ) 3 3 = = The upper sum requires little bit of extr work. We hve to figure out where f is lrgest on 6

7 ech subintervl [x i, x i+1 ], nd this will vry depending on i. Let us look t picture: 1 x Thus, for exmple, on the intervl [x 0, x 1 ] = [ 1, 1 ], it is cler tht f is lrgest when x = 1, sowe must choose t 0 = 1. Proceeding nlogously, we get t 1 = 0, t = 0, nd t 3 = 1, nd so U = n 1 f(t i ) x i=0 = f( 1 ) 1 + f(0) 1 + f(0) 1 + f(1 ) 1 ( 1 = ( 1/) ) 1 (1/) 1 ( ) 3 3 = = Similrly, to compute the lower Riemnn sum, we see from the picture 1 x tht, for exmple on [x 0, x 1 ] = [ 1, 1 ], f is smllest t x = 1, so we will need t 0 = 1, nd proceeding nlogously we get tht t 1 = 1, t = 1 nd t 3 = 1. Thus, L = n 1 f(t i ) x i=0 = f( 1) 1 + f( 1 ) 1 + f(1 ) 1 + f(1) 1 ( 1 = ( 1) + 1 ( 1/) + 1 (1/) + ) ( ) 3 3 = = As finl observtion, we note tht L S L = S R U. 7

8 The next step is, of course, refining the prtition of [, b] nd summing over more nd more rectngles, thus, hopefully, getting more ccurte pproximtion to the ctul re. A function f is sid to be Riemnn integrble on [, b] if, no mtter how the choice of prtitions P of [, b] is mde, the limit of these Riemnn sums s we dd more nd more rectngles, lim n S P n f(t i ) (x i+1 x i ) i=1 exists s rel number. It is fct, proven lter in undergrdute nlysis, tht the choice of prtition doesn t mtter, so you my choose, if you wnt, the left Riemnn sum every time. In this cse, if the limit exists, f is sid to be Riemnn integrble on [, b] nd the vlue of this limit is clled the Riemnn integrl or definite Riemnn integrl of f on [, b], nd this limit is denoted n 1 f(x) dx = lim S P = lim f(t i )(x i+1 x i ) n n If we choose x = x i+1 x i to be constnt nd equl to b n, then we my write i=0 n 1 f(x) dx = lim f(t i ) x n i=0 8

9 Theorems Theorem.1 (Limit Lws) Let k be constnt rel number. Then, 1. lim (kf(x)) = k lim f(x). lim ( f(x) + g(x) ) = lim f(x) + lim g(x) ( ) ( 3. lim f(x)g(x) = lim f(x) )( lim g(x) ) f(x) 4. lim g(x) = lim f(x) lim g(x) if g(x) 0 5. lim k = k (we think of k s constnt function) 6. lim x = c (we think of x s the function f(x) = x) Theorem. (Continuity Lws) Let k be constnt rel number nd suppose f nd g re continuous on n intervl [, b] (or n open or hlf-open intervl, it doesn t mtter). Then, the following functions re continuous: 1. kf(x). f(x) + g(x) 3. f(x)g(x) 4. f(x) g(x) if g(x) 0 5. (f g)(x) Theorem.3 (Intermedite Vlue Theorem) If f is continuous on closed nd bounded intervl [, b] nd k is y-vlue between f() nd f(b) (whether f() k f(b) or f(b) k f()), then there is t lest one number c between nd b such tht f(c) = k. Remrk.4 This mens tht the entire rnge of y-vlues between f() nd f(b) is hit by f on the intervl [, b], possibly more thn once. Exmple.5 Since f(x) = x is continuous on [4, 100], nd since f(4) = nd f(100) = 10, ll numbers between nd 10 re hit. For exmple 5: there is number, nmely c = 5, in between 4 nd 100, such tht f(c) = 5. Exmple.6 Consider the polynomil p(x) = 5x 3 + πx + 1. It hs t lest one root between 1 nd 0, becuse p( 1) = 4 π nd p(0) = 1, nd since 0 lies in between these two y vlues nd p(x) is continuous on [ 1, 0], we know there is number c between 1 nd 0 such tht p(c) = 0. Tht s our root. 9

10 Exmple.7 Consider f(x) = 1/x. Then f( 1) = 1 nd f(1) = 1, but the Intermedite Vlue Theorem doesn t pply to give c between 1 nd 1 such tht f(c) = 0, becuse f is not continuous on [ 1, 1]. Indeed, f(x) never equls 0. Theorem.8 (Extreme Vlue Theorem) If f is continuous function on closed nd bounded intervl [, b], then f ttins (globl) minimum nd (globl) mximum on tht intervl, tht is mx x b f(x) nd min x b f(x) exist s rel numbers. This mens there re points x 1 nd x in the intervl [, b] such tht f(x 1 ) = mx x b f(x) nd f(x ) = min x b f(x) Exmple.9 The prbol f(x) = x + 6x 1, being polynomil, is continuous everywhere, so for exmple on [0, 4] it must chieve its minimum nd its mximum. In fct, s cn be seen from the grph: f(0) = min f(x) = 1 nd f(3) = mx f(x) = 8 0 x 4 0 x 4 Of course, we don t need the grph, becuse (using the first nd second derivtive tests) we cn ctully find the mximum nd minimum nlyticlly s follows: 1. First, find ll criticl points, which mens ompute the derivtive, set it equl to zero nd solve for x: f (x) = x + 6 = 0, so x = 3 is criticl point.. Use, e.g. the second derivtive test to clssify it: f (3) = < 0, so it s locl mx. 3. Check the vlue of f t the criticl point (which lies in the intervl [0, 4]) ginst the vlue of f t the endpoints 0 nd 4: f(0) = 1, f(3) = 8 nd f(4) = 7, so it looks like 0 is the globl min nd 3 is the globl mx here, i.e. f(0) = min 0 x 4 f(x) = 1 nd f(3) = mx 0 x 4 f(x) = 8. Exmple.10 The function f(x) = 1 x is continuous on (, 0) (0, ), but on (0, ) the Extreme Vlue Theorem doesn t pply, becuse (0, 1) is not closed intervl. As it turns out, f(x) hs neither (locl or globl) mx or min on (0, 1) (it just gets bigger nd bigger without bound s x pproches 0 nd it gets closer nd closer to 1/ s x pproches, but it never reches 1/, nd so it never reches smllest vlue. 10

11 Theorem.11 (Differentition Rules) If two functions f nd g re differentible t x = nd k is constnt, then the functions c (the constnt function), cf(x), f(x) + g(x), f(x)g(x), f(x)/g(x) (when g(x) 0), nd (f g)() (when f is differentible t b = g()) re ll differentible t x =, nd moreover stisfy the following formuls: (1) c = 0 () (cf) () = cf () (constnt fctor rule) } (linerity) (3) (f + g) () = f () + g () (sum rule) (4) (fg) () = f()g () + f ()g() (product rule) (5) ( ) f () = f ()g() f()g () g g () (quotient rule) (6) (f g) () = f ( g() ) f () (chin rule) Theorem.1 (Differentibility Implies Continuity) If f is differentible t point x =, then it is continuous t x =. Consequently, if f is differentible on n open intervl (, b), then it is continuous on tht intervl. Remrk.13 Of course the converse is not true. You cn hve continuous function which is not differentible. For exmple f(x) = x is continuous t x = 0 but not differentible there (the left nd right limits of the difference quotient s h 0 don t gree). Theorem.14 (Men Vlue Theorem) If f is continuous on [, b] nd differentible on (, b), then there is some c between nd b such tht f(b) f() = f (c)(b ) Exmple.15 The Men Vlue Theorem is used for mny things, but the simplest of its uses is in proving inequlities. For exmple, let us prove the inequlity sin x x on [0, ). The trick is to define new function, h(x), s the difference of the two functions under considertion, tht is let h(x) = x sin x 11

12 Then we need only show tht h(x) 0 to prove our ssertion. Now, since for ny x > 0 we know tht h is continous on [0, x] nd differentible on (0, x), the MVT pplies to give the existence of c between 0 nd x such tht h(x) h(0) = h (c)(x 0) Now, h(0) = 0 sin 0 = 0, nd moreover h (x) = 1 cos x 0, which, long with the fct tht x > 0, implies h (x)(x 0) 0, so we hve x sin x = h(x) 0 on [0, ), which is wht we set out to prove. Corollry.16 (Constnt Function Theorem) Let f be continuous on [, b] nd differentible on (, b). Then f (x) = 0 on ll of (, b) if nd only if f is constnt on the intervl. Corollry.17 Let f nd g be continuous on [, b] nd differentible on (, b). If f (x) = g (x) on (, b), then f nd g differ by constnt, i.e. for some constnt c. f(x) = g(x) + c Remrk.18 This is importnt for integrls nd nti-derivtives. Nmely, ll nti-derivtives differ by constnt, nd so the most generl ntiderivtive of function is written f(x)dx = F (x) + C where F (x) is some specific ntiderivtive nd C is n rbitrry constnt, tht constnt showing up in the lst corollry. Corollry.19 Let f be differentible on n open intervl (, b). (1) If f (x) 0 on (, b), then f is incresing on (, b). () If f (x) 0 on (, b), then f is decresing on (, b). Moreover, if the inequlities re strict, then f is strictly incresing or strictly decresing, respectively. Corollry.0 (First Derivtive Test) Let f be differentible on n open intervl contining criticl point x 0 of f, i.e. one for which f (x 0 ) = 0. (1) If f (x) > 0 for x < x 0 nd f (x) < 0 for x > x 0, then x 0 is locl mximum of f. () If f (x) < 0 for x < x 0 nd f (x) > 0 for x > x 0, then x 0 is locl minimum of f. 1

13 Corollry.1 (Second Derivtive Test) Let f be twice differentible on n open intervl contining criticl point x 0 of f, i.e. one for which f (x 0 ) = 0. (1) If f (x 0 ) > 0, then x 0 is locl minimum of f. () If f (x 0 ) < 0, then x 0 is locl mximum of f. (3) If f (x 0 ) = 0, then no conclusion cn be drwn. x 0 my be locl minimum or locl mximum or point of inflection. Theorem. (Inverse Fuction Theorem) Let f be continuous nd invertible on [, b] nd differentible t some point x 0 in [, b]. If f (x 0 ) 0, then f 1 is differentible t f(x 0 ) nd if we let y 0 = f(x 0 ), then (f 1 ) ( ) 1 y 0 = f (x 0 ) Theorem.3 (L Hôspitl s Rule) Let f nd g be differentible on (, b) nd let g (x) 0 on (, b). We llow = nd b =. If for some x 0 in [, b] we hve lim x x0 f(x) = lim x x0 g(x) = 0 or lim x x0 f(x) = lim x x0 g(x) = ±, nd if the limit f (x) lim x x 0 g (x) = L f(x) g(x) exists s rel number or s ±, then the limit lim x x0 nd f(x) lim x x 0 g(x) = lim f (x) x x 0 g (x) = L exists s rel number or ±, Theorem.4 If f nd g nd continuous on [, b] nd k is constnt, then (linerity) (f(x) + g(x)) dx = nd if f(x) g(x) on [, b], then kf(x) dx = k f(x) dx As consequence, if m f(x) M on [, b], then f(x) dx + f(x) dx g(x) dx g(x) dx m(b ) f(x) dx M(b ) 13

14 Theorem.5 Let f be Riemnn continuous on [, b]. Then for ll c in [, b] we hve f(x) dx = c f(x) dx + c f(x) dx Theorem.6 f f is continous on [, b], then f(x) dx = b f(x) dx Remrk.7 This is more mtter of convention thn theorem. Theorem.8 (Averge/Men Vlue Theorem for Integrls) [, b], then there is number c in [, b] such tht If f is continuous on f(c) = 1 b f(x)dx Theorem.9 (Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus I) differentible on (, b), nd if f is continuous on (, b), then f (x) dx = f(b) f() If f is continuous on [, b] nd Theorem.30 (Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus II) then the function F : [, b] R given by F (x) = x f(t) dt is continuous on [, b] nd differentible on (, b), with derivtive given by If f is continuous on [, b], F (x) = f(x) Remrk.31 This theorem, FTC II, gives the existence of ntiderivtives for ny Riemnn integrble function on [, b]. However, this result is only of theoreticl interest, s the form of the ntiderivtive, F (x) = x f(t) dt, isn t relly computtionlly helpful. However, it is useful for fmilirizing yourself with the nottion nd definitions. For exmple, if we wnt to tke the x-derivtive of F (sin x), this is strightforwrd, just pply the chin rule: letting y = sin x, d df dy F (sin x) = = f(x) cos x dx dy dx But it s slightly hrder to see in the form d sin x dx f(t) dt. However, the two expressions re the sme! d sin x f(t) dt = df dy = f(x) cos x dx dy dx 14

15 Theorem.3 (Integrtion by Prts) If f nd g re continuous on [, b] nd differentible on (, b), nd if f nd g re Riemnn integrble on [, b], then f(x)g (x) dx = [ ] b f(x)g(x) x= f (x)g(x) dx (.1) Theorem.33 (Chnge of Vrible) [, b] nd g is continuous on [α, β], then If f : [, b] [α, β] is continously differentible on g ( f(x) ) f (x) dx = f(b) f() g(y) dy (.) 15

Review of Calculus, cont d

Review of Calculus, cont d Jim Lmbers MAT 460 Fll Semester 2009-10 Lecture 3 Notes These notes correspond to Section 1.1 in the text. Review of Clculus, cont d Riemnn Sums nd the Definite Integrl There re mny cses in which some

More information

The Regulated and Riemann Integrals

The Regulated and Riemann Integrals Chpter 1 The Regulted nd Riemnn Integrls 1.1 Introduction We will consider severl different pproches to defining the definite integrl f(x) dx of function f(x). These definitions will ll ssign the sme vlue

More information

Overview of Calculus I

Overview of Calculus I Overview of Clculus I Prof. Jim Swift Northern Arizon University There re three key concepts in clculus: The limit, the derivtive, nd the integrl. You need to understnd the definitions of these three things,

More information

Main topics for the First Midterm

Main topics for the First Midterm Min topics for the First Midterm The Midterm will cover Section 1.8, Chpters 2-3, Sections 4.1-4.8, nd Sections 5.1-5.3 (essentilly ll of the mteril covered in clss). Be sure to know the results of the

More information

Definition of Continuity: The function f(x) is continuous at x = a if f(a) exists and lim

Definition of Continuity: The function f(x) is continuous at x = a if f(a) exists and lim Mth 9 Course Summry/Study Guide Fll, 2005 [1] Limits Definition of Limit: We sy tht L is the limit of f(x) s x pproches if f(x) gets closer nd closer to L s x gets closer nd closer to. We write lim f(x)

More information

MORE FUNCTION GRAPHING; OPTIMIZATION. (Last edited October 28, 2013 at 11:09pm.)

MORE FUNCTION GRAPHING; OPTIMIZATION. (Last edited October 28, 2013 at 11:09pm.) MORE FUNCTION GRAPHING; OPTIMIZATION FRI, OCT 25, 203 (Lst edited October 28, 203 t :09pm.) Exercise. Let n be n rbitrry positive integer. Give n exmple of function with exctly n verticl symptotes. Give

More information

INTRODUCTION TO INTEGRATION

INTRODUCTION TO INTEGRATION INTRODUCTION TO INTEGRATION 5.1 Ares nd Distnces Assume f(x) 0 on the intervl [, b]. Let A be the re under the grph of f(x). b We will obtin n pproximtion of A in the following three steps. STEP 1: Divide

More information

38 Riemann sums and existence of the definite integral.

38 Riemann sums and existence of the definite integral. 38 Riemnn sums nd existence of the definite integrl. In the clcultion of the re of the region X bounded by the grph of g(x) = x 2, the x-xis nd 0 x b, two sums ppered: ( n (k 1) 2) b 3 n 3 re(x) ( n These

More information

Math& 152 Section Integration by Parts

Math& 152 Section Integration by Parts Mth& 5 Section 7. - Integrtion by Prts Integrtion by prts is rule tht trnsforms the integrl of the product of two functions into other (idelly simpler) integrls. Recll from Clculus I tht given two differentible

More information

7.2 Riemann Integrable Functions

7.2 Riemann Integrable Functions 7.2 Riemnn Integrble Functions Theorem 1. If f : [, b] R is step function, then f R[, b]. Theorem 2. If f : [, b] R is continuous on [, b], then f R[, b]. Theorem 3. If f : [, b] R is bounded nd continuous

More information

1 The Riemann Integral

1 The Riemann Integral The Riemnn Integrl. An exmple leding to the notion of integrl (res) We know how to find (i.e. define) the re of rectngle (bse height), tringle ( (sum of res of tringles). But how do we find/define n re

More information

A REVIEW OF CALCULUS CONCEPTS FOR JDEP 384H. Thomas Shores Department of Mathematics University of Nebraska Spring 2007

A REVIEW OF CALCULUS CONCEPTS FOR JDEP 384H. Thomas Shores Department of Mathematics University of Nebraska Spring 2007 A REVIEW OF CALCULUS CONCEPTS FOR JDEP 384H Thoms Shores Deprtment of Mthemtics University of Nebrsk Spring 2007 Contents Rtes of Chnge nd Derivtives 1 Dierentils 4 Are nd Integrls 5 Multivrite Clculus

More information

Math 554 Integration

Math 554 Integration Mth 554 Integrtion Hndout #9 4/12/96 Defn. A collection of n + 1 distinct points of the intervl [, b] P := {x 0 = < x 1 < < x i 1 < x i < < b =: x n } is clled prtition of the intervl. In this cse, we

More information

Unit #9 : Definite Integral Properties; Fundamental Theorem of Calculus

Unit #9 : Definite Integral Properties; Fundamental Theorem of Calculus Unit #9 : Definite Integrl Properties; Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus Gols: Identify properties of definite integrls Define odd nd even functions, nd reltionship to integrl vlues Introduce the Fundmentl

More information

Mathematics 19A; Fall 2001; V. Ginzburg Practice Final Solutions

Mathematics 19A; Fall 2001; V. Ginzburg Practice Final Solutions Mthemtics 9A; Fll 200; V Ginzburg Prctice Finl Solutions For ech of the ten questions below, stte whether the ssertion is true or flse ) Let fx) be continuous t x Then x fx) f) Answer: T b) Let f be differentible

More information

Definite integral. Mathematics FRDIS MENDELU

Definite integral. Mathematics FRDIS MENDELU Definite integrl Mthemtics FRDIS MENDELU Simon Fišnrová Brno 1 Motivtion - re under curve Suppose, for simplicity, tht y = f(x) is nonnegtive nd continuous function defined on [, b]. Wht is the re of the

More information

MATH 144: Business Calculus Final Review

MATH 144: Business Calculus Final Review MATH 144: Business Clculus Finl Review 1 Skills 1. Clculte severl limits. 2. Find verticl nd horizontl symptotes for given rtionl function. 3. Clculte derivtive by definition. 4. Clculte severl derivtives

More information

Calculus in R. Chapter Di erentiation

Calculus in R. Chapter Di erentiation Chpter 3 Clculus in R 3.1 Di erentition Definition 3.1. Suppose U R is open. A function f : U! R is di erentible t x 2 U if there exists number m such tht lim y!0 pple f(x + y) f(x) my y =0. If f is di

More information

Definite integral. Mathematics FRDIS MENDELU. Simona Fišnarová (Mendel University) Definite integral MENDELU 1 / 30

Definite integral. Mathematics FRDIS MENDELU. Simona Fišnarová (Mendel University) Definite integral MENDELU 1 / 30 Definite integrl Mthemtics FRDIS MENDELU Simon Fišnrová (Mendel University) Definite integrl MENDELU / Motivtion - re under curve Suppose, for simplicity, tht y = f(x) is nonnegtive nd continuous function

More information

Properties of Integrals, Indefinite Integrals. Goals: Definition of the Definite Integral Integral Calculations using Antiderivatives

Properties of Integrals, Indefinite Integrals. Goals: Definition of the Definite Integral Integral Calculations using Antiderivatives Block #6: Properties of Integrls, Indefinite Integrls Gols: Definition of the Definite Integrl Integrl Clcultions using Antiderivtives Properties of Integrls The Indefinite Integrl 1 Riemnn Sums - 1 Riemnn

More information

ACCESS TO SCIENCE, ENGINEERING AND AGRICULTURE: MATHEMATICS 1 MATH00030 SEMESTER /2019

ACCESS TO SCIENCE, ENGINEERING AND AGRICULTURE: MATHEMATICS 1 MATH00030 SEMESTER /2019 ACCESS TO SCIENCE, ENGINEERING AND AGRICULTURE: MATHEMATICS MATH00030 SEMESTER 208/209 DR. ANTHONY BROWN 7.. Introduction to Integrtion. 7. Integrl Clculus As ws the cse with the chpter on differentil

More information

Advanced Calculus: MATH 410 Notes on Integrals and Integrability Professor David Levermore 17 October 2004

Advanced Calculus: MATH 410 Notes on Integrals and Integrability Professor David Levermore 17 October 2004 Advnced Clculus: MATH 410 Notes on Integrls nd Integrbility Professor Dvid Levermore 17 October 2004 1. Definite Integrls In this section we revisit the definite integrl tht you were introduced to when

More information

Anti-derivatives/Indefinite Integrals of Basic Functions

Anti-derivatives/Indefinite Integrals of Basic Functions Anti-derivtives/Indefinite Integrls of Bsic Functions Power Rule: In prticulr, this mens tht x n+ x n n + + C, dx = ln x + C, if n if n = x 0 dx = dx = dx = x + C nd x (lthough you won t use the second

More information

Integration Techniques

Integration Techniques Integrtion Techniques. Integrtion of Trigonometric Functions Exmple. Evlute cos x. Recll tht cos x = cos x. Hence, cos x Exmple. Evlute = ( + cos x) = (x + sin x) + C = x + 4 sin x + C. cos 3 x. Let u

More information

Math 8 Winter 2015 Applications of Integration

Math 8 Winter 2015 Applications of Integration Mth 8 Winter 205 Applictions of Integrtion Here re few importnt pplictions of integrtion. The pplictions you my see on n exm in this course include only the Net Chnge Theorem (which is relly just the Fundmentl

More information

f(x)dx . Show that there 1, 0 < x 1 does not exist a differentiable function g : [ 1, 1] R such that g (x) = f(x) for all

f(x)dx . Show that there 1, 0 < x 1 does not exist a differentiable function g : [ 1, 1] R such that g (x) = f(x) for all 3 Definite Integrl 3.1 Introduction In school one comes cross the definition of the integrl of rel vlued function defined on closed nd bounded intervl [, b] between the limits nd b, i.e., f(x)dx s the

More information

Review of basic calculus

Review of basic calculus Review of bsic clculus This brief review reclls some of the most importnt concepts, definitions, nd theorems from bsic clculus. It is not intended to tech bsic clculus from scrtch. If ny of the items below

More information

1 The fundamental theorems of calculus.

1 The fundamental theorems of calculus. The fundmentl theorems of clculus. The fundmentl theorems of clculus. Evluting definite integrls. The indefinite integrl- new nme for nti-derivtive. Differentiting integrls. Tody we provide the connection

More information

Math Calculus with Analytic Geometry II

Math Calculus with Analytic Geometry II orem of definite Mth 5.0 with Anlytic Geometry II Jnury 4, 0 orem of definite If < b then b f (x) dx = ( under f bove x-xis) ( bove f under x-xis) Exmple 8 0 3 9 x dx = π 3 4 = 9π 4 orem of definite Problem

More information

Chapters 4 & 5 Integrals & Applications

Chapters 4 & 5 Integrals & Applications Contents Chpters 4 & 5 Integrls & Applictions Motivtion to Chpters 4 & 5 2 Chpter 4 3 Ares nd Distnces 3. VIDEO - Ares Under Functions............................................ 3.2 VIDEO - Applictions

More information

Riemann Sums and Riemann Integrals

Riemann Sums and Riemann Integrals Riemnn Sums nd Riemnn Integrls Jmes K. Peterson Deprtment of Biologicl Sciences nd Deprtment of Mthemticl Sciences Clemson University August 26, 2013 Outline 1 Riemnn Sums 2 Riemnn Integrls 3 Properties

More information

Lecture 1. Functional series. Pointwise and uniform convergence.

Lecture 1. Functional series. Pointwise and uniform convergence. 1 Introduction. Lecture 1. Functionl series. Pointwise nd uniform convergence. In this course we study mongst other things Fourier series. The Fourier series for periodic function f(x) with period 2π is

More information

Big idea in Calculus: approximation

Big idea in Calculus: approximation Big ide in Clculus: pproximtion Derivtive: f (x) = df dx f f(x +h) f(x) =, x h rte of chnge is pproximtely the rtio of chnges in the function vlue nd in the vrible in very short time Liner pproximtion:

More information

Stuff You Need to Know From Calculus

Stuff You Need to Know From Calculus Stuff You Need to Know From Clculus For the first time in the semester, the stuff we re doing is finlly going to look like clculus (with vector slnt, of course). This mens tht in order to succeed, you

More information

Numerical Analysis: Trapezoidal and Simpson s Rule

Numerical Analysis: Trapezoidal and Simpson s Rule nd Simpson s Mthemticl question we re interested in numericlly nswering How to we evlute I = f (x) dx? Clculus tells us tht if F(x) is the ntiderivtive of function f (x) on the intervl [, b], then I =

More information

Riemann Sums and Riemann Integrals

Riemann Sums and Riemann Integrals Riemnn Sums nd Riemnn Integrls Jmes K. Peterson Deprtment of Biologicl Sciences nd Deprtment of Mthemticl Sciences Clemson University August 26, 203 Outline Riemnn Sums Riemnn Integrls Properties Abstrct

More information

n f(x i ) x. i=1 In section 4.2, we defined the definite integral of f from x = a to x = b as n f(x i ) x; f(x) dx = lim i=1

n f(x i ) x. i=1 In section 4.2, we defined the definite integral of f from x = a to x = b as n f(x i ) x; f(x) dx = lim i=1 The Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus As we continue to study the re problem, let s think bck to wht we know bout computing res of regions enclosed by curves. If we wnt to find the re of the region below the

More information

Recitation 3: More Applications of the Derivative

Recitation 3: More Applications of the Derivative Mth 1c TA: Pdric Brtlett Recittion 3: More Applictions of the Derivtive Week 3 Cltech 2012 1 Rndom Question Question 1 A grph consists of the following: A set V of vertices. A set E of edges where ech

More information

IMPORTANT THEOREMS CHEAT SHEET

IMPORTANT THEOREMS CHEAT SHEET IMPORTANT THEOREMS CHEAT SHEET BY DOUGLAS DANE Howdy, I m Bronson s dog Dougls. Bronson is still complining bout the textbook so I thought if I kept list of the importnt results for you, he might stop.

More information

Chapter 6. Riemann Integral

Chapter 6. Riemann Integral Introduction to Riemnn integrl Chpter 6. Riemnn Integrl Won-Kwng Prk Deprtment of Mthemtics, The College of Nturl Sciences Kookmin University Second semester, 2015 1 / 41 Introduction to Riemnn integrl

More information

Math 360: A primitive integral and elementary functions

Math 360: A primitive integral and elementary functions Mth 360: A primitive integrl nd elementry functions D. DeTurck University of Pennsylvni October 16, 2017 D. DeTurck Mth 360 001 2017C: Integrl/functions 1 / 32 Setup for the integrl prtitions Definition:

More information

W. We shall do so one by one, starting with I 1, and we shall do it greedily, trying

W. We shall do so one by one, starting with I 1, and we shall do it greedily, trying Vitli covers 1 Definition. A Vitli cover of set E R is set V of closed intervls with positive length so tht, for every δ > 0 nd every x E, there is some I V with λ(i ) < δ nd x I. 2 Lemm (Vitli covering)

More information

The Riemann Integral

The Riemann Integral Deprtment of Mthemtics King Sud University 2017-2018 Tble of contents 1 Anti-derivtive Function nd Indefinite Integrls 2 3 4 5 Indefinite Integrls & Anti-derivtive Function Definition Let f : I R be function

More information

Indefinite Integral. Chapter Integration - reverse of differentiation

Indefinite Integral. Chapter Integration - reverse of differentiation Chpter Indefinite Integrl Most of the mthemticl opertions hve inverse opertions. The inverse opertion of differentition is clled integrtion. For exmple, describing process t the given moment knowing the

More information

Week 10: Riemann integral and its properties

Week 10: Riemann integral and its properties Clculus nd Liner Algebr for Biomedicl Engineering Week 10: Riemnn integrl nd its properties H. Führ, Lehrstuhl A für Mthemtik, RWTH Achen, WS 07 Motivtion: Computing flow from flow rtes 1 We observe the

More information

Math 1431 Section M TH 4:00 PM 6:00 PM Susan Wheeler Office Hours: Wed 6:00 7:00 PM Online ***NOTE LABS ARE MON AND WED

Math 1431 Section M TH 4:00 PM 6:00 PM Susan Wheeler Office Hours: Wed 6:00 7:00 PM Online ***NOTE LABS ARE MON AND WED Mth 43 Section 4839 M TH 4: PM 6: PM Susn Wheeler swheeler@mth.uh.edu Office Hours: Wed 6: 7: PM Online ***NOTE LABS ARE MON AND WED t :3 PM to 3: pm ONLINE Approimting the re under curve given the type

More information

Integrals - Motivation

Integrals - Motivation Integrls - Motivtion When we looked t function s rte of chnge If f(x) is liner, the nswer is esy slope If f(x) is non-liner, we hd to work hrd limits derivtive A relted question is the re under f(x) (but

More information

1 Techniques of Integration

1 Techniques of Integration November 8, 8 MAT86 Week Justin Ko Techniques of Integrtion. Integrtion By Substitution (Chnge of Vribles) We cn think of integrtion by substitution s the counterprt of the chin rule for differentition.

More information

Calculus II: Integrations and Series

Calculus II: Integrations and Series Clculus II: Integrtions nd Series August 7, 200 Integrls Suppose we hve generl function y = f(x) For simplicity, let f(x) > 0 nd f(x) continuous Denote F (x) = re under the grph of f in the intervl [,x]

More information

DERIVATIVES NOTES HARRIS MATH CAMP Introduction

DERIVATIVES NOTES HARRIS MATH CAMP Introduction f DERIVATIVES NOTES HARRIS MATH CAMP 208. Introduction Reding: Section 2. The derivtive of function t point is the slope of the tngent line to the function t tht point. Wht does this men, nd how do we

More information

Lecture 1: Introduction to integration theory and bounded variation

Lecture 1: Introduction to integration theory and bounded variation Lecture 1: Introduction to integrtion theory nd bounded vrition Wht is this course bout? Integrtion theory. The first question you might hve is why there is nything you need to lern bout integrtion. You

More information

Chapter 6 Notes, Larson/Hostetler 3e

Chapter 6 Notes, Larson/Hostetler 3e Contents 6. Antiderivtives nd the Rules of Integrtion.......................... 6. Are nd the Definite Integrl.................................. 6.. Are............................................ 6. Reimnn

More information

0.1 Chapters 1: Limits and continuity

0.1 Chapters 1: Limits and continuity 1 REVIEW SHEET FOR CALCULUS 140 Some of the topics hve smple problems from previous finls indicted next to the hedings. 0.1 Chpters 1: Limits nd continuity Theorem 0.1.1 Sndwich Theorem(F 96 # 20, F 97

More information

First midterm topics Second midterm topics End of quarter topics. Math 3B Review. Steve. 18 March 2009

First midterm topics Second midterm topics End of quarter topics. Math 3B Review. Steve. 18 March 2009 Mth 3B Review Steve 18 Mrch 2009 About the finl Fridy Mrch 20, 3pm-6pm, Lkretz 110 No notes, no book, no clcultor Ten questions Five review questions (Chpters 6,7,8) Five new questions (Chpters 9,10) No

More information

MATH SS124 Sec 39 Concepts summary with examples

MATH SS124 Sec 39 Concepts summary with examples This note is mde for students in MTH124 Section 39 to review most(not ll) topics I think we covered in this semester, nd there s exmples fter these concepts, go over this note nd try to solve those exmples

More information

APPROXIMATE INTEGRATION

APPROXIMATE INTEGRATION APPROXIMATE INTEGRATION. Introduction We hve seen tht there re functions whose nti-derivtives cnnot be expressed in closed form. For these resons ny definite integrl involving these integrnds cnnot be

More information

Review on Integration (Secs ) Review: Sec Origins of Calculus. Riemann Sums. New functions from old ones.

Review on Integration (Secs ) Review: Sec Origins of Calculus. Riemann Sums. New functions from old ones. Mth 20B Integrl Clculus Lecture Review on Integrtion (Secs. 5. - 5.3) Remrks on the course. Slide Review: Sec. 5.-5.3 Origins of Clculus. Riemnn Sums. New functions from old ones. A mthemticl description

More information

Math 113 Exam 1-Review

Math 113 Exam 1-Review Mth 113 Exm 1-Review September 26, 2016 Exm 1 covers 6.1-7.3 in the textbook. It is dvisble to lso review the mteril from 5.3 nd 5.5 s this will be helpful in solving some of the problems. 6.1 Are Between

More information

P 3 (x) = f(0) + f (0)x + f (0) 2. x 2 + f (0) . In the problem set, you are asked to show, in general, the n th order term is a n = f (n) (0)

P 3 (x) = f(0) + f (0)x + f (0) 2. x 2 + f (0) . In the problem set, you are asked to show, in general, the n th order term is a n = f (n) (0) 1 Tylor polynomils In Section 3.5, we discussed how to pproximte function f(x) round point in terms of its first derivtive f (x) evluted t, tht is using the liner pproximtion f() + f ()(x ). We clled this

More information

MATH , Calculus 2, Fall 2018

MATH , Calculus 2, Fall 2018 MATH 36-2, 36-3 Clculus 2, Fll 28 The FUNdmentl Theorem of Clculus Sections 5.4 nd 5.5 This worksheet focuses on the most importnt theorem in clculus. In fct, the Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus (FTC is rgubly

More information

Riemann is the Mann! (But Lebesgue may besgue to differ.)

Riemann is the Mann! (But Lebesgue may besgue to differ.) Riemnn is the Mnn! (But Lebesgue my besgue to differ.) Leo Livshits My 2, 2008 1 For finite intervls in R We hve seen in clss tht every continuous function f : [, b] R hs the property tht for every ɛ >

More information

Definite Integrals. The area under a curve can be approximated by adding up the areas of rectangles = 1 1 +

Definite Integrals. The area under a curve can be approximated by adding up the areas of rectangles = 1 1 + Definite Integrls --5 The re under curve cn e pproximted y dding up the res of rectngles. Exmple. Approximte the re under y = from x = to x = using equl suintervls nd + x evluting the function t the left-hnd

More information

1 The fundamental theorems of calculus.

1 The fundamental theorems of calculus. The fundmentl theorems of clculus. The fundmentl theorems of clculus. Evluting definite integrls. The indefinite integrl- new nme for nti-derivtive. Differentiting integrls. Theorem Suppose f is continuous

More information

f(a+h) f(a) x a h 0. This is the rate at which

f(a+h) f(a) x a h 0. This is the rate at which M408S Concept Inventory smple nswers These questions re open-ended, nd re intended to cover the min topics tht we lerned in M408S. These re not crnk-out-n-nswer problems! (There re plenty of those in the

More information

Mathematics for economists

Mathematics for economists Mthemtics for economists Peter Jochumzen September 26, 2016 Contents 1 Logic 3 2 Set theory 4 3 Rel number system: Axioms 4 4 Rel number system: Definitions 5 5 Rel numbers: Results 5 6 Rel numbers: Powers

More information

Final Exam - Review MATH Spring 2017

Final Exam - Review MATH Spring 2017 Finl Exm - Review MATH 5 - Spring 7 Chpter, 3, nd Sections 5.-5.5, 5.7 Finl Exm: Tuesdy 5/9, :3-7:pm The following is list of importnt concepts from the sections which were not covered by Midterm Exm or.

More information

MA 124 January 18, Derivatives are. Integrals are.

MA 124 January 18, Derivatives are. Integrals are. MA 124 Jnury 18, 2018 Prof PB s one-minute introduction to clculus Derivtives re. Integrls re. In Clculus 1, we lern limits, derivtives, some pplictions of derivtives, indefinite integrls, definite integrls,

More information

Numerical Integration

Numerical Integration Chpter 5 Numericl Integrtion Numericl integrtion is the study of how the numericl vlue of n integrl cn be found. Methods of function pproximtion discussed in Chpter??, i.e., function pproximtion vi the

More information

Topics Covered AP Calculus AB

Topics Covered AP Calculus AB Topics Covered AP Clculus AB ) Elementry Functions ) Properties of Functions i) A function f is defined s set of ll ordered pirs (, y), such tht for ech element, there corresponds ectly one element y.

More information

MAA 4212 Improper Integrals

MAA 4212 Improper Integrals Notes by Dvid Groisser, Copyright c 1995; revised 2002, 2009, 2014 MAA 4212 Improper Integrls The Riemnn integrl, while perfectly well-defined, is too restrictive for mny purposes; there re functions which

More information

Chapter 0. What is the Lebesgue integral about?

Chapter 0. What is the Lebesgue integral about? Chpter 0. Wht is the Lebesgue integrl bout? The pln is to hve tutoril sheet ech week, most often on Fridy, (to be done during the clss) where you will try to get used to the ides introduced in the previous

More information

Z b. f(x)dx. Yet in the above two cases we know what f(x) is. Sometimes, engineers want to calculate an area by computing I, but...

Z b. f(x)dx. Yet in the above two cases we know what f(x) is. Sometimes, engineers want to calculate an area by computing I, but... Chpter 7 Numericl Methods 7. Introduction In mny cses the integrl f(x)dx cn be found by finding function F (x) such tht F 0 (x) =f(x), nd using f(x)dx = F (b) F () which is known s the nlyticl (exct) solution.

More information

SYDE 112, LECTURES 3 & 4: The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus

SYDE 112, LECTURES 3 & 4: The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus SYDE 112, LECTURES & 4: The Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus So fr we hve introduced two new concepts in this course: ntidifferentition nd Riemnn sums. It turns out tht these quntities re relted, but it is

More information

Euler, Ioachimescu and the trapezium rule. G.J.O. Jameson (Math. Gazette 96 (2012), )

Euler, Ioachimescu and the trapezium rule. G.J.O. Jameson (Math. Gazette 96 (2012), ) Euler, Iochimescu nd the trpezium rule G.J.O. Jmeson (Mth. Gzette 96 (0), 36 4) The following results were estblished in recent Gzette rticle [, Theorems, 3, 4]. Given > 0 nd 0 < s

More information

The area under the graph of f and above the x-axis between a and b is denoted by. f(x) dx. π O

The area under the graph of f and above the x-axis between a and b is denoted by. f(x) dx. π O 1 Section 5. The Definite Integrl Suppose tht function f is continuous nd positive over n intervl [, ]. y = f(x) x The re under the grph of f nd ove the x-xis etween nd is denoted y f(x) dx nd clled the

More information

LECTURE. INTEGRATION AND ANTIDERIVATIVE.

LECTURE. INTEGRATION AND ANTIDERIVATIVE. ANALYSIS FOR HIGH SCHOOL TEACHERS LECTURE. INTEGRATION AND ANTIDERIVATIVE. ROTHSCHILD CAESARIA COURSE, 2015/6 1. Integrtion Historiclly, it ws the problem of computing res nd volumes, tht triggered development

More information

We partition C into n small arcs by forming a partition of [a, b] by picking s i as follows: a = s 0 < s 1 < < s n = b.

We partition C into n small arcs by forming a partition of [a, b] by picking s i as follows: a = s 0 < s 1 < < s n = b. Mth 255 - Vector lculus II Notes 4.2 Pth nd Line Integrls We begin with discussion of pth integrls (the book clls them sclr line integrls). We will do this for function of two vribles, but these ides cn

More information

AB Calculus Review Sheet

AB Calculus Review Sheet AB Clculus Review Sheet Legend: A Preclculus, B Limits, C Differentil Clculus, D Applictions of Differentil Clculus, E Integrl Clculus, F Applictions of Integrl Clculus, G Prticle Motion nd Rtes This is

More information

7.2 The Definite Integral

7.2 The Definite Integral 7.2 The Definite Integrl the definite integrl In the previous section, it ws found tht if function f is continuous nd nonnegtive, then the re under the grph of f on [, b] is given by F (b) F (), where

More information

( ) as a fraction. Determine location of the highest

( ) as a fraction. Determine location of the highest AB Clculus Exm Review Sheet - Solutions A. Preclculus Type prolems A1 A2 A3 A4 A5 A6 A7 This is wht you think of doing Find the zeros of f ( x). Set function equl to 0. Fctor or use qudrtic eqution if

More information

Math 113 Fall Final Exam Review. 2. Applications of Integration Chapter 6 including sections and section 6.8

Math 113 Fall Final Exam Review. 2. Applications of Integration Chapter 6 including sections and section 6.8 Mth 3 Fll 0 The scope of the finl exm will include: Finl Exm Review. Integrls Chpter 5 including sections 5. 5.7, 5.0. Applictions of Integrtion Chpter 6 including sections 6. 6.5 nd section 6.8 3. Infinite

More information

f(x) dx, If one of these two conditions is not met, we call the integral improper. Our usual definition for the value for the definite integral

f(x) dx, If one of these two conditions is not met, we call the integral improper. Our usual definition for the value for the definite integral Improper Integrls Every time tht we hve evluted definite integrl such s f(x) dx, we hve mde two implicit ssumptions bout the integrl:. The intervl [, b] is finite, nd. f(x) is continuous on [, b]. If one

More information

6.5 Numerical Approximations of Definite Integrals

6.5 Numerical Approximations of Definite Integrals Arknss Tech University MATH 94: Clculus II Dr. Mrcel B. Finn 6.5 Numericl Approximtions of Definite Integrls Sometimes the integrl of function cnnot be expressed with elementry functions, i.e., polynomil,

More information

( ) where f ( x ) is a. AB Calculus Exam Review Sheet. A. Precalculus Type problems. Find the zeros of f ( x).

( ) where f ( x ) is a. AB Calculus Exam Review Sheet. A. Precalculus Type problems. Find the zeros of f ( x). AB Clculus Exm Review Sheet A. Preclculus Type prolems A1 Find the zeros of f ( x). This is wht you think of doing A2 A3 Find the intersection of f ( x) nd g( x). Show tht f ( x) is even. A4 Show tht f

More information

MA123, Chapter 10: Formulas for integrals: integrals, antiderivatives, and the Fundamental Theorem of Calculus (pp.

MA123, Chapter 10: Formulas for integrals: integrals, antiderivatives, and the Fundamental Theorem of Calculus (pp. MA123, Chpter 1: Formuls for integrls: integrls, ntiderivtives, nd the Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus (pp. 27-233, Gootmn) Chpter Gols: Assignments: Understnd the sttement of the Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus.

More information

Section Areas and Distances. Example 1: Suppose a car travels at a constant 50 miles per hour for 2 hours. What is the total distance traveled?

Section Areas and Distances. Example 1: Suppose a car travels at a constant 50 miles per hour for 2 hours. What is the total distance traveled? Section 5. - Ares nd Distnces Exmple : Suppose cr trvels t constnt 5 miles per hour for 2 hours. Wht is the totl distnce trveled? Exmple 2: Suppose cr trvels 75 miles per hour for the first hour, 7 miles

More information

4.4 Areas, Integrals and Antiderivatives

4.4 Areas, Integrals and Antiderivatives . res, integrls nd ntiderivtives 333. Ares, Integrls nd Antiderivtives This section explores properties of functions defined s res nd exmines some connections mong res, integrls nd ntiderivtives. In order

More information

Abstract inner product spaces

Abstract inner product spaces WEEK 4 Abstrct inner product spces Definition An inner product spce is vector spce V over the rel field R equipped with rule for multiplying vectors, such tht the product of two vectors is sclr, nd the

More information

The First Fundamental Theorem of Calculus. If f(x) is continuous on [a, b] and F (x) is any antiderivative. f(x) dx = F (b) F (a).

The First Fundamental Theorem of Calculus. If f(x) is continuous on [a, b] and F (x) is any antiderivative. f(x) dx = F (b) F (a). The Fundmentl Theorems of Clculus Mth 4, Section 0, Spring 009 We now know enough bout definite integrls to give precise formultions of the Fundmentl Theorems of Clculus. We will lso look t some bsic emples

More information

Chapter 7 Notes, Stewart 8e. 7.1 Integration by Parts Trigonometric Integrals Evaluating sin m x cos n (x) dx...

Chapter 7 Notes, Stewart 8e. 7.1 Integration by Parts Trigonometric Integrals Evaluating sin m x cos n (x) dx... Contents 7.1 Integrtion by Prts................................... 2 7.2 Trigonometric Integrls.................................. 8 7.2.1 Evluting sin m x cos n (x)......................... 8 7.2.2 Evluting

More information

Improper Integrals. Type I Improper Integrals How do we evaluate an integral such as

Improper Integrals. Type I Improper Integrals How do we evaluate an integral such as Improper Integrls Two different types of integrls cn qulify s improper. The first type of improper integrl (which we will refer to s Type I) involves evluting n integrl over n infinite region. In the grph

More information

1. Find the derivative of the following functions. a) f(x) = 2 + 3x b) f(x) = (5 2x) 8 c) f(x) = e2x

1. Find the derivative of the following functions. a) f(x) = 2 + 3x b) f(x) = (5 2x) 8 c) f(x) = e2x I. Dierentition. ) Rules. *product rule, quotient rule, chin rule MATH 34B FINAL REVIEW. Find the derivtive of the following functions. ) f(x) = 2 + 3x x 3 b) f(x) = (5 2x) 8 c) f(x) = e2x 4x 7 +x+2 d)

More information

Principles of Real Analysis I Fall VI. Riemann Integration

Principles of Real Analysis I Fall VI. Riemann Integration 21-355 Principles of Rel Anlysis I Fll 2004 A. Definitions VI. Riemnn Integrtion Let, b R with < b be given. By prtition of [, b] we men finite set P [, b] with, b P. The set of ll prtitions of [, b] will

More information

Math 118: Honours Calculus II Winter, 2005 List of Theorems. L(P, f) U(Q, f). f exists for each ǫ > 0 there exists a partition P of [a, b] such that

Math 118: Honours Calculus II Winter, 2005 List of Theorems. L(P, f) U(Q, f). f exists for each ǫ > 0 there exists a partition P of [a, b] such that Mth 118: Honours Clculus II Winter, 2005 List of Theorems Lemm 5.1 (Prtition Refinement): If P nd Q re prtitions of [, b] such tht Q P, then L(P, f) L(Q, f) U(Q, f) U(P, f). Lemm 5.2 (Upper Sums Bound

More information

( ) Same as above but m = f x = f x - symmetric to y-axis. find where f ( x) Relative: Find where f ( x) x a + lim exists ( lim f exists.

( ) Same as above but m = f x = f x - symmetric to y-axis. find where f ( x) Relative: Find where f ( x) x a + lim exists ( lim f exists. AP Clculus Finl Review Sheet solutions When you see the words This is wht you think of doing Find the zeros Set function =, fctor or use qudrtic eqution if qudrtic, grph to find zeros on clcultor Find

More information

Math 116 Calculus II

Math 116 Calculus II Mth 6 Clculus II Contents 5 Exponentil nd Logrithmic functions 5. Review........................................... 5.. Exponentil functions............................... 5.. Logrithmic functions...............................

More information

x = b a n x 2 e x dx. cdx = c(b a), where c is any constant. a b

x = b a n x 2 e x dx. cdx = c(b a), where c is any constant. a b CHAPTER 5. INTEGRALS 61 where nd x = b n x i = 1 (x i 1 + x i ) = midpoint of [x i 1, x i ]. Problem 168 (Exercise 1, pge 377). Use the Midpoint Rule with the n = 4 to pproximte 5 1 x e x dx. Some quick

More information

AP Calculus Multiple Choice: BC Edition Solutions

AP Calculus Multiple Choice: BC Edition Solutions AP Clculus Multiple Choice: BC Edition Solutions J. Slon Mrch 8, 04 ) 0 dx ( x) is A) B) C) D) E) Divergent This function inside the integrl hs verticl symptotes t x =, nd the integrl bounds contin this

More information

Review of Riemann Integral

Review of Riemann Integral 1 Review of Riemnn Integrl In this chpter we review the definition of Riemnn integrl of bounded function f : [, b] R, nd point out its limittions so s to be convinced of the necessity of more generl integrl.

More information