AP Calculus BC Review Applications of Integration (Chapter 6) noting that one common instance of a force is weight

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "AP Calculus BC Review Applications of Integration (Chapter 6) noting that one common instance of a force is weight"

Transcription

1 AP Clculus BC Review Applictions of Integrtion (Chpter Things to Know n Be Able to Do Fin the re between two curves by integrting with respect to x or y Fin volumes by pproximtions with cross sections: isks (cyliners, wshers, n other shpes Fin volume by cylinricl shells: (rius r, height h, n thickness r gives volume V = rhr Fin work one using the formul W = Fx, noting tht one common instnce of force is weight Prctice Problems For ll problems, show correct, lbele igrm n complete setup of the problem in terms of single vrible. Use correct units where pplicble. This is esigne to be one with clcultor. Remember, when giving pproximte nswers, to give three eciml plces. Let R be the she region boune by the grphs of y= x n y = e x n the verticl line x =, s shown in the figure t right. Fin the re of R. b Fin the volume of the soli generte when R is revolve bout the horizontl line y =. c The region R is the bse of soli. For this soli, ech cross-section perpeniculr to the x-xis is rectngle whose height is 5 times the length of its bse in region R. Fin the volume of this soli. A continer is in the shpe of regulr squre pyrmi. The height of the pyrmi is ft n the sies of the squre bse re ft long. The tnk is full of liqui with weight ensity Fin the work one in pumping the liqui to point ft bove the top of the tnk. 8 lb ft. Let R be the region in the first qurnt boune by the grph of y = x x n the x-xis. Fin the volume of the soli generte when R is revolve bout the ( x-xis n (b y-xis R If the force F, in ft lb, prticle from F x cting on prticle on the x-xis is given by ( x = ft to ft ft lb b x = is equl to ft lb c ft lb ft lb e 7 =, then the work one in moving the x ft lb 5 The bse of soli is circle of rius, n every plne cross-section perpeniculr to one specific imeter is squre. The soli hs volume 8 b c e 8 The region whose bounries re = n y x x y = is revolve bout the x-xis. The resulting soli hs volume ( x + x x b ( x x x c ( y yy e y y x x x

2 7 The re of the region enclose by the grphs of y = x n y = x is b c 5 e 8 When the region enclose by the grphs of y = x n y x x soli generte is given by ( ( x x x b ( x xx x c ( ( x x x e ( x x x = is revolve bout the y-xis, the volume of the x x x Wht is the volume of the soli generte by rotting bout the x-xis the region enclose by the grph of y = sec x n the lines x =, y =, n x =? b c 8 e ln( + If the region in the first qurnt boune between the y-xis n the grph of ( the x-xis, the volume of the soli generte is given by ( ( y y y b ( y ( y y 8 e ( ( 8 x ( x x x 8 c x( x x x x x = y y is revolve bout x Fin the re enclose by the grphs of b = + n y = x. 7 c y x x x e 85

3 Answers. b. c.55 8 ft lb 8. b.88 5 b 5 b 7 8 e c Solutions First we nee to fin the beginning of the intervl over which to integrte, which is the point of intersection of y= x with x y = e. Therefore we solve x x = e ; this cnnot be solve for x exctly, but n pproximtion cn be foun:.. Since the top function is y= x, the bottom function is x y = e, n the upper limit is, x we integrte ( x e x x. This cn be evlute s e + x. or just plugge into clcultor; the. nswer is.. b We fin this object s volume using isks centere roun the line y =. Ech isk hs inner rius x n ( x outer rius e x, so ech one hs re = ( ( = (( ( x V e x x. To fin the totl volume, we integrte ( x ( A e x n, with thickness x, volume ( e x x.. Don t bother fining n ntierivtive for the integrn; it s relly ugly n you ll nee to pproximte the nswer nywy. Your clcultor will give you the pproximtion V =.. x e x x n height 5 ( x e. They ech hve re A 5 ( x e x, thickness is x, ech volume is = ( The totl volume is given by ( c Ech rectngle hs with = n if their x V 5 x e x. 5 x V = x e x.. An pproximtion to this is V =.55. Consier squre horizontl slb of liqui t height h below the pyrmi s pex n with sie length x. A resulting sie view of hlf the pyrmi is shown t right. Clerly, the two tringles re h similr, so we cn set up the proportion =, mening x = h. Thus slb locte h below h x the pex hs sie length, h re ( A = h = h, n if it hs thickness h, volume x 7 V = h h. This mens tht ech slb s weight is 8 ( h h = h h. Ech hs to be lifte istnce h to get to the pex n then further to the esire point, for totl istnce of h +. Therefore the 7 7 work one to lift ech slb is W = h h( + h, n the totl work is ( h + h h= 8 ft lb. A igrm of the region is shown t right. The volume cn be foun by isks centere roun the x-xis; ech isk hs rius y = x x n thickness x, V = x x x. The object s totl volume is then given by 8 V = ( x x x=.. 5 for volume of ( R

4 b This requires the metho of cylinricl shells, which shoul be centere roun the y-xis. Ech shell hs rius x, thickness x, n height y x x =. So ech cyliner hs volume V = x( x x x. The totl volume is given by V = x( x x x= Since W = Fx n the prticle is moving from x = ft to x = ft uner force of F = lb, the totl work x ft ft one is x = = ft ft lb. This is choice b. x x ft 5 The circle is given by x + y =, so x = y. Ech squre hs bse x n height x for n re of ( x = x. Since the squres re prllel to the x-xis, they hve thickness y, n ech slb hs volume V = x y. Fortuntely, since we know x = y, we cn substitute tht in to fin = ( Then the totl volume is V 8 8 = ( y y = ( y y = ( =, choice. V y y. The region is shown t right; its left bounry is t x = n its right bounry is t x =. The volume of the soli escribe is foun by isks centere roun the x- xis; ech isk hs rius x x. If the isks hve thickness x, ech one s volume is V = ( x x x, so the totl volume is given by V = ( xx x. This is choice b. 7 The region is shown t left; its right bounry is t x = ; the top function is y = x, n the bottom function is y = x. Therefore, the region s re is ( ( ( ( ( A= x x x= x x = =, choice. 8 The region is shown t right; its left bounry is t x = n its right bounry is t x =. We cn fin the volume of the soli escribe with cylinricl shells centere roun the y-xis. Ech shll hs rius x, thickness x, n height ( x x x= x x. Therefore the volume of the soli is ( or ( x x x, choice e. x x xx, The region is shown t left. We cn fin the volume of the soli with isks centere roun the x-xis. Ech isk hs rius y = sec x n thickness x, so its volume is V = sec xx. The totl volume is thus sec xx = tnx] =, choice c.

5 The region is shown t right. Its lower bounry is y = n its upper bounry is y =. Fining the volume escribe is tricky; we nee to use cylinricl shells centere roun the x-xis. Ech shell hs rius y, thickness y, n height = (. The volume of ech shell is given by ( x y y the totl volume is ( ( ( V = y y y y = y y y, ( V = y y y y, so choice. The grphs with the two regions in question shown re t right. The left bounry of the left region is x =, the curves intersect t x =, n the right bounry of the right region is x =. Since in the left region the top function is y= x + x x while in the right region the top function is y = x, the ( + = ( + ( + = ( + + left region s re is ( n the right s is ( The first integrl is evlute s x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x. x + x x x =. The totl re is thus x x + x + x =, n the secon s 7 + =, choice.

sec x over the interval (, ). x ) dx dx x 14. Use a graphing utility to generate some representative integral curves of the function Curve on 5

sec x over the interval (, ). x ) dx dx x 14. Use a graphing utility to generate some representative integral curves of the function Curve on 5 Curve on Clcultor eperience Fin n ownlo (or type in) progrm on your clcultor tht will fin the re uner curve using given number of rectngles. Mke sure tht the progrm fins LRAM, RRAM, n MRAM. (You nee to

More information

x ) dx dx x sec x over the interval (, ).

x ) dx dx x sec x over the interval (, ). Curve on 6 For -, () Evlute the integrl, n (b) check your nswer by ifferentiting. ( ). ( ). ( ).. 6. sin cos 7. sec csccot 8. sec (sec tn ) 9. sin csc. Evlute the integrl sin by multiplying the numertor

More information

ES.181A Topic 8 Notes Jeremy Orloff

ES.181A Topic 8 Notes Jeremy Orloff ES.8A Topic 8 Notes Jeremy Orloff 8 Integrtion: u-substitution, trig-substitution 8. Integrtion techniques Only prctice will mke perfect. These techniques re importnt, but not the intellectul hert of the

More information

Math 0230 Calculus 2 Lectures

Math 0230 Calculus 2 Lectures Mth Clculus Lectures Chpter 7 Applictions of Integrtion Numertion of sections corresponds to the text Jmes Stewrt, Essentil Clculus, Erly Trnscendentls, Second edition. Section 7. Ares Between Curves Two

More information

APPLICATIONS OF THE DEFINITE INTEGRAL

APPLICATIONS OF THE DEFINITE INTEGRAL APPLICATIONS OF THE DEFINITE INTEGRAL. Volume: Slicing, disks nd wshers.. Volumes by Slicing. Suppose solid object hs boundries extending from x =, to x = b, nd tht its cross-section in plne pssing through

More information

The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus Part 2, The Evaluation Part

The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus Part 2, The Evaluation Part AP Clculus AB 6.4 Funmentl Theorem of Clculus The Funmentl Theorem of Clculus hs two prts. These two prts tie together the concept of integrtion n ifferentition n is regre by some to by the most importnt

More information

7.1 Integral as Net Change and 7.2 Areas in the Plane Calculus

7.1 Integral as Net Change and 7.2 Areas in the Plane Calculus 7.1 Integrl s Net Chnge nd 7. Ares in the Plne Clculus 7.1 INTEGRAL AS NET CHANGE Notecrds from 7.1: Displcement vs Totl Distnce, Integrl s Net Chnge We hve lredy seen how the position of n oject cn e

More information

7.1 Integral as Net Change Calculus. What is the total distance traveled? What is the total displacement?

7.1 Integral as Net Change Calculus. What is the total distance traveled? What is the total displacement? 7.1 Integrl s Net Chnge Clculus 7.1 INTEGRAL AS NET CHANGE Distnce versus Displcement We hve lredy seen how the position of n oject cn e found y finding the integrl of the velocity function. The chnge

More information

Keys to Success. 1. MC Calculator Usually only 5 out of 17 questions actually require calculators.

Keys to Success. 1. MC Calculator Usually only 5 out of 17 questions actually require calculators. Keys to Success Aout the Test:. MC Clcultor Usully only 5 out of 7 questions ctully require clcultors.. Free-Response Tips. You get ooklets write ll work in the nswer ooklet (it is white on the insie)

More information

l 2 p2 n 4n 2, the total surface area of the

l 2 p2 n 4n 2, the total surface area of the Week 6 Lectures Sections 7.5, 7.6 Section 7.5: Surfce re of Revolution Surfce re of Cone: Let C be circle of rdius r. Let P n be n n-sided regulr polygon of perimeter p n with vertices on C. Form cone

More information

cos 3 (x) sin(x) dx 3y + 4 dy Math 1206 Calculus Sec. 5.6: Substitution and Area Between Curves

cos 3 (x) sin(x) dx 3y + 4 dy Math 1206 Calculus Sec. 5.6: Substitution and Area Between Curves Mth 126 Clculus Sec. 5.6: Substitution nd Are Between Curves I. U-Substitution for Definite Integrls A. Th m 6-Substitution in Definite Integrls: If g (x) is continuous on [,b] nd f is continuous on the

More information

APPM 1360 Exam 2 Spring 2016

APPM 1360 Exam 2 Spring 2016 APPM 6 Em Spring 6. 8 pts, 7 pts ech For ech of the following prts, let f + nd g 4. For prts, b, nd c, set up, but do not evlute, the integrl needed to find the requested informtion. The volume of the

More information

a < a+ x < a+2 x < < a+n x = b, n A i n f(x i ) x. i=1 i=1

a < a+ x < a+2 x < < a+n x = b, n A i n f(x i ) x. i=1 i=1 Mth 33 Volume Stewrt 5.2 Geometry of integrls. In this section, we will lern how to compute volumes using integrls defined by slice nlysis. First, we recll from Clculus I how to compute res. Given the

More information

n f(x i ) x. i=1 In section 4.2, we defined the definite integral of f from x = a to x = b as n f(x i ) x; f(x) dx = lim i=1

n f(x i ) x. i=1 In section 4.2, we defined the definite integral of f from x = a to x = b as n f(x i ) x; f(x) dx = lim i=1 The Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus As we continue to study the re problem, let s think bck to wht we know bout computing res of regions enclosed by curves. If we wnt to find the re of the region below the

More information

f(x i ) x. i=1 In section 4.2, we defined the definite integral of f from x = a to x = b as f(x) dx = lim f(x i ) x; i=1

f(x i ) x. i=1 In section 4.2, we defined the definite integral of f from x = a to x = b as f(x) dx = lim f(x i ) x; i=1 The Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus As we continue to study the re problem, let s think bck to wht we know bout computing res of regions enclosed by curves. If we wnt to find the re of the region below the

More information

We divide the interval [a, b] into subintervals of equal length x = b a n

We divide the interval [a, b] into subintervals of equal length x = b a n Arc Length Given curve C defined by function f(x), we wnt to find the length of this curve between nd b. We do this by using process similr to wht we did in defining the Riemnn Sum of definite integrl:

More information

7.6 The Use of Definite Integrals in Physics and Engineering

7.6 The Use of Definite Integrals in Physics and Engineering Arknss Tech University MATH 94: Clculus II Dr. Mrcel B. Finn 7.6 The Use of Definite Integrls in Physics nd Engineering It hs been shown how clculus cn be pplied to find solutions to geometric problems

More information

Homework Assignment 5 Solution Set

Homework Assignment 5 Solution Set Homework Assignment 5 Solution Set PHYCS 44 3 Februry, 4 Problem Griffiths 3.8 The first imge chrge gurntees potentil of zero on the surfce. The secon imge chrge won t chnge the contribution to the potentil

More information

AP Calculus Multiple Choice: BC Edition Solutions

AP Calculus Multiple Choice: BC Edition Solutions AP Clculus Multiple Choice: BC Edition Solutions J. Slon Mrch 8, 04 ) 0 dx ( x) is A) B) C) D) E) Divergent This function inside the integrl hs verticl symptotes t x =, nd the integrl bounds contin this

More information

4.5 THE FUNDAMENTAL THEOREM OF CALCULUS

4.5 THE FUNDAMENTAL THEOREM OF CALCULUS 4.5 The Funmentl Theorem of Clculus Contemporry Clculus 4.5 THE FUNDAMENTAL THEOREM OF CALCULUS This section contins the most importnt n most use theorem of clculus, THE Funmentl Theorem of Clculus. Discovere

More information

x = a To determine the volume of the solid, we use a definite integral to sum the volumes of the slices as we let!x " 0 :

x = a To determine the volume of the solid, we use a definite integral to sum the volumes of the slices as we let!x  0 : Clculus II MAT 146 Integrtion Applictions: Volumes of 3D Solids Our gol is to determine volumes of vrious shpes. Some of the shpes re the result of rotting curve out n xis nd other shpes re simply given

More information

The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus. The Total Change Theorem and the Area Under a Curve.

The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus. The Total Change Theorem and the Area Under a Curve. Clculus Li Vs The Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus. The Totl Chnge Theorem nd the Are Under Curve. Recll the following fct from Clculus course. If continuous function f(x) represents the rte of chnge of F

More information

SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS

SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS Victorin Certificte of Euction 08 SUPERVISOR TO ATTACH PROCESSING LABEL HERE Letter STUDENT NUMBER SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS Written exmintion Tuesy 5 June 08 Reing time:.00 pm to.5 pm (5 minutes) Writing

More information

5.2 Volumes: Disks and Washers

5.2 Volumes: Disks and Washers 4 pplictions of definite integrls 5. Volumes: Disks nd Wshers In the previous section, we computed volumes of solids for which we could determine the re of cross-section or slice. In this section, we restrict

More information

x 2 1 dx x 3 dx = ln(x) + 2e u du = 2e u + C = 2e x + C 2x dx = arcsin x + 1 x 1 x du = 2 u + C (t + 2) 50 dt x 2 4 dx

x 2 1 dx x 3 dx = ln(x) + 2e u du = 2e u + C = 2e x + C 2x dx = arcsin x + 1 x 1 x du = 2 u + C (t + 2) 50 dt x 2 4 dx . Compute the following indefinite integrls: ) sin(5 + )d b) c) d e d d) + d Solutions: ) After substituting u 5 +, we get: sin(5 + )d sin(u)du cos(u) + C cos(5 + ) + C b) We hve: d d ln() + + C c) Substitute

More information

[ ( ) ( )] Section 6.1 Area of Regions between two Curves. Goals: 1. To find the area between two curves

[ ( ) ( )] Section 6.1 Area of Regions between two Curves. Goals: 1. To find the area between two curves Gols: 1. To find the re etween two curves Section 6.1 Are of Regions etween two Curves I. Are of Region Between Two Curves A. Grphicl Represention = _ B. Integrl Represention [ ( ) ( )] f x g x dx = C.

More information

Exam 1 September 21, 2012 Instructor: Timothy Martin

Exam 1 September 21, 2012 Instructor: Timothy Martin PHY 232 Exm 1 Sept 21, 212 Exm 1 September 21, 212 Instructor: Timothy Mrtin Stuent Informtion Nme n section: UK Stuent ID: Set #: Instructions Answer the questions in the spce provie. On the long form

More information

2 b. , a. area is S= 2π xds. Again, understand where these formulas came from (pages ).

2 b. , a. area is S= 2π xds. Again, understand where these formulas came from (pages ). AP Clculus BC Review Chpter 8 Prt nd Chpter 9 Things to Know nd Be Ale to Do Know everything from the first prt of Chpter 8 Given n integrnd figure out how to ntidifferentite it using ny of the following

More information

Definite integral. Mathematics FRDIS MENDELU

Definite integral. Mathematics FRDIS MENDELU Definite integrl Mthemtics FRDIS MENDELU Simon Fišnrová Brno 1 Motivtion - re under curve Suppose, for simplicity, tht y = f(x) is nonnegtive nd continuous function defined on [, b]. Wht is the re of the

More information

Practice Final. Name: Problem 1. Show all of your work, label your answers clearly, and do not use a calculator.

Practice Final. Name: Problem 1. Show all of your work, label your answers clearly, and do not use a calculator. Nme: MATH 2250 Clculus Eric Perkerson Dte: December 11, 2015 Prctice Finl Show ll of your work, lbel your nswers clerly, nd do not use clcultor. Problem 1 Compute the following limits, showing pproprite

More information

SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS

SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS Victorin Certificte of Euction 08 SUPERVISOR TO ATTACH PROCESSING LABEL HERE Letter STUDENT NUMBER SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS Written exmintion Friy 9 November 08 Reing time: 9.00 m to 9.5 m (5 minutes) Writing

More information

Definite integral. Mathematics FRDIS MENDELU. Simona Fišnarová (Mendel University) Definite integral MENDELU 1 / 30

Definite integral. Mathematics FRDIS MENDELU. Simona Fišnarová (Mendel University) Definite integral MENDELU 1 / 30 Definite integrl Mthemtics FRDIS MENDELU Simon Fišnrová (Mendel University) Definite integrl MENDELU / Motivtion - re under curve Suppose, for simplicity, tht y = f(x) is nonnegtive nd continuous function

More information

4.4 Areas, Integrals and Antiderivatives

4.4 Areas, Integrals and Antiderivatives . res, integrls nd ntiderivtives 333. Ares, Integrls nd Antiderivtives This section explores properties of functions defined s res nd exmines some connections mong res, integrls nd ntiderivtives. In order

More information

VII. The Integral. 50. Area under a Graph. y = f(x)

VII. The Integral. 50. Area under a Graph. y = f(x) VII. The Integrl In this chpter we efine the integrl of function on some intervl [, b]. The most common interprettion of the integrl is in terms of the re uner the grph of the given function, so tht is

More information

SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS

SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS Victorin Certificte of Euction 06 SUPERVISOR TO ATTACH PROCESSING LABEL HERE Letter STUDENT NUMBER SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS Written exmintion Friy 4 November 06 Reing time: 9.00 m to 9.5 m (5 minutes) Writing

More information

AB Calculus Review Sheet

AB Calculus Review Sheet AB Clculus Review Sheet Legend: A Preclculus, B Limits, C Differentil Clculus, D Applictions of Differentil Clculus, E Integrl Clculus, F Applictions of Integrl Clculus, G Prticle Motion nd Rtes This is

More information

( ) where f ( x ) is a. AB Calculus Exam Review Sheet. A. Precalculus Type problems. Find the zeros of f ( x).

( ) where f ( x ) is a. AB Calculus Exam Review Sheet. A. Precalculus Type problems. Find the zeros of f ( x). AB Clculus Exm Review Sheet A. Preclculus Type prolems A1 Find the zeros of f ( x). This is wht you think of doing A2 A3 Find the intersection of f ( x) nd g( x). Show tht f ( x) is even. A4 Show tht f

More information

Math 142: Final Exam Formulas to Know

Math 142: Final Exam Formulas to Know Mth 4: Finl Exm Formuls to Know This ocument tells you every formul/strtegy tht you shoul know in orer to o well on your finl. Stuy it well! The helpful rules/formuls from the vrious review sheets my be

More information

( ) as a fraction. Determine location of the highest

( ) as a fraction. Determine location of the highest AB Clculus Exm Review Sheet - Solutions A. Preclculus Type prolems A1 A2 A3 A4 A5 A6 A7 This is wht you think of doing Find the zeros of f ( x). Set function equl to 0. Fctor or use qudrtic eqution if

More information

MUST-KNOW MATERIAL FOR CALCULUS

MUST-KNOW MATERIAL FOR CALCULUS MUST-KNOW MATERIAL FOR CALCULUS MISCELLANEOUS: intervl nottion: (, b), [, b], (, b], (, ), etc. Rewrite ricls s frctionl exponents: 3 x = x 1/3, x3 = x 3/2 etc. An impliction If A then B is equivlent to

More information

Test , 8.2, 8.4 (density only), 8.5 (work only), 9.1, 9.2 and 9.3 related test 1 material and material from prior classes

Test , 8.2, 8.4 (density only), 8.5 (work only), 9.1, 9.2 and 9.3 related test 1 material and material from prior classes Test 2 8., 8.2, 8.4 (density only), 8.5 (work only), 9., 9.2 nd 9.3 relted test mteril nd mteril from prior clsses Locl to Globl Perspectives Anlyze smll pieces to understnd the big picture. Exmples: numericl

More information

Unit Six AP Calculus Unit 6 Review Definite Integrals. Name Period Date NON-CALCULATOR SECTION

Unit Six AP Calculus Unit 6 Review Definite Integrals. Name Period Date NON-CALCULATOR SECTION Unit Six AP Clculus Unit 6 Review Definite Integrls Nme Period Dte NON-CALCULATOR SECTION Voculry: Directions Define ech word nd give n exmple. 1. Definite Integrl. Men Vlue Theorem (for definite integrls)

More information

Final Exam - Review MATH Spring 2017

Final Exam - Review MATH Spring 2017 Finl Exm - Review MATH 5 - Spring 7 Chpter, 3, nd Sections 5.-5.5, 5.7 Finl Exm: Tuesdy 5/9, :3-7:pm The following is list of importnt concepts from the sections which were not covered by Midterm Exm or.

More information

10. AREAS BETWEEN CURVES

10. AREAS BETWEEN CURVES . AREAS BETWEEN CURVES.. Ares etween curves So res ove the x-xis re positive nd res elow re negtive, right? Wrong! We lied! Well, when you first lern out integrtion it s convenient fiction tht s true in

More information

MATHEMATICAL METHODS (CAS) Written Examination 1

MATHEMATICAL METHODS (CAS) Written Examination 1 The Mthemticl Assocition of Victori Tril Exm 011 MATHEMATICAL METHODS (CAS) STUDENT NAME Written Exmintion 1 Reing time: 15 minutes Writing time: 1 hour QUESTION AND ANSWER BOOK Structure of book Number

More information

SAINT IGNATIUS COLLEGE

SAINT IGNATIUS COLLEGE SAINT IGNATIUS COLLEGE Directions to Students Tril Higher School Certificte 0 MATHEMATICS Reding Time : 5 minutes Totl Mrks 00 Working Time : hours Write using blue or blck pen. (sketches in pencil). This

More information

Test 3 Review. Jiwen He. I will replace your lowest test score with the percentage grade from the final exam (provided it is higher).

Test 3 Review. Jiwen He. I will replace your lowest test score with the percentage grade from the final exam (provided it is higher). Test 3 Review Jiwen He Test 3 Test 3: Dec. 4-6 in CASA Mteril - Through 6.3. No Homework (Thnksgiving) No homework this week! Hve GREAT Thnksgiving! Finl Exm Finl Exm: Dec. 14-17 in CASA You Might Be Interested

More information

Math 113 Exam 1-Review

Math 113 Exam 1-Review Mth 113 Exm 1-Review September 26, 2016 Exm 1 covers 6.1-7.3 in the textbook. It is dvisble to lso review the mteril from 5.3 nd 5.5 s this will be helpful in solving some of the problems. 6.1 Are Between

More information

Unit #10 De+inite Integration & The Fundamental Theorem Of Calculus

Unit #10 De+inite Integration & The Fundamental Theorem Of Calculus Unit # De+inite Integrtion & The Fundmentl Theorem Of Clculus. Find the re of the shded region ove nd explin the mening of your nswer. (squres re y units) ) The grph to the right is f(x) = -x + 8x )Use

More information

Section 6.3 The Fundamental Theorem, Part I

Section 6.3 The Fundamental Theorem, Part I Section 6.3 The Funmentl Theorem, Prt I (3//8) Overview: The Funmentl Theorem of Clculus shows tht ifferentition n integrtion re, in sense, inverse opertions. It is presente in two prts. We previewe Prt

More information

Sections 5.2: The Definite Integral

Sections 5.2: The Definite Integral Sections 5.2: The Definite Integrl In this section we shll formlize the ides from the lst section to functions in generl. We strt with forml definition.. The Definite Integrl Definition.. Suppose f(x)

More information

Mathematics Extension 2

Mathematics Extension 2 S Y D N E Y B O Y S H I G H S C H O O L M O O R E P A R K, S U R R Y H I L L S 005 HIGHER SCHOOL CERTIFICATE TRIAL PAPER Mthemtics Extension Generl Instructions Totl Mrks 0 Reding Time 5 Minutes Attempt

More information

1.1 Functions. 0.1 Lines. 1.2 Linear Functions. 1.3 Rates of change. 0.2 Fractions. 0.3 Rules of exponents. 1.4 Applications of Functions to Economics

1.1 Functions. 0.1 Lines. 1.2 Linear Functions. 1.3 Rates of change. 0.2 Fractions. 0.3 Rules of exponents. 1.4 Applications of Functions to Economics 0.1 Lines Definition. Here re two forms of the eqution of line: y = mx + b y = m(x x 0 ) + y 0 ( m = slope, b = y-intercept, (x 0, y 0 ) = some given point ) slope-intercept point-slope There re two importnt

More information

= f (c) f (c) the height of the rectangle guaranteed by the MVT for integrals.

= f (c) f (c) the height of the rectangle guaranteed by the MVT for integrals. Get Rey: Given (t) = 8t n v() = 6, fin the isplcement n istnce of the oject from t= to t= If () = 4, fin the position of the prticle t t= I. Averge Vlue of Function Wht oes represent? Cn we rw rectngle

More information

( ) Same as above but m = f x = f x - symmetric to y-axis. find where f ( x) Relative: Find where f ( x) x a + lim exists ( lim f exists.

( ) Same as above but m = f x = f x - symmetric to y-axis. find where f ( x) Relative: Find where f ( x) x a + lim exists ( lim f exists. AP Clculus Finl Review Sheet solutions When you see the words This is wht you think of doing Find the zeros Set function =, fctor or use qudrtic eqution if qudrtic, grph to find zeros on clcultor Find

More information

5.4, 6.1, 6.2 Handout. As we ve discussed, the integral is in some way the opposite of taking a derivative. The exact relationship

5.4, 6.1, 6.2 Handout. As we ve discussed, the integral is in some way the opposite of taking a derivative. The exact relationship 5.4, 6.1, 6.2 Hnout As we ve iscusse, the integrl is in some wy the opposite of tking erivtive. The exct reltionship is given by the Funmentl Theorem of Clculus: The Funmentl Theorem of Clculus: If f is

More information

Indefinite Integral. Chapter Integration - reverse of differentiation

Indefinite Integral. Chapter Integration - reverse of differentiation Chpter Indefinite Integrl Most of the mthemticl opertions hve inverse opertions. The inverse opertion of differentition is clled integrtion. For exmple, describing process t the given moment knowing the

More information

Mathematics Extension 2

Mathematics Extension 2 00 HIGHER SCHOOL CERTIFICATE EXAMINATION Mthemtics Etension Generl Instructions Reding time 5 minutes Working time hours Write using blck or blue pen Bord-pproved clcultors my be used A tble of stndrd

More information

M 106 Integral Calculus and Applications

M 106 Integral Calculus and Applications M 6 Integrl Clculus n Applictions Contents The Inefinite Integrls.................................................... Antierivtives n Inefinite Integrls.. Antierivtives.............................................................

More information

Big idea in Calculus: approximation

Big idea in Calculus: approximation Big ide in Clculus: pproximtion Derivtive: f (x) = df dx f f(x +h) f(x) =, x h rte of chnge is pproximtely the rtio of chnges in the function vlue nd in the vrible in very short time Liner pproximtion:

More information

Definite Integrals. The area under a curve can be approximated by adding up the areas of rectangles = 1 1 +

Definite Integrals. The area under a curve can be approximated by adding up the areas of rectangles = 1 1 + Definite Integrls --5 The re under curve cn e pproximted y dding up the res of rectngles. Exmple. Approximte the re under y = from x = to x = using equl suintervls nd + x evluting the function t the left-hnd

More information

INTRODUCTION TO INTEGRATION

INTRODUCTION TO INTEGRATION INTRODUCTION TO INTEGRATION 5.1 Ares nd Distnces Assume f(x) 0 on the intervl [, b]. Let A be the re under the grph of f(x). b We will obtin n pproximtion of A in the following three steps. STEP 1: Divide

More information

Before we can begin Ch. 3 on Radicals, we need to be familiar with perfect squares, cubes, etc. Try and do as many as you can without a calculator!!!

Before we can begin Ch. 3 on Radicals, we need to be familiar with perfect squares, cubes, etc. Try and do as many as you can without a calculator!!! Nme: Algebr II Honors Pre-Chpter Homework Before we cn begin Ch on Rdicls, we need to be fmilir with perfect squres, cubes, etc Try nd do s mny s you cn without clcultor!!! n The nth root of n n Be ble

More information

Consider a potential problem in the half-space dened by z 0, with Dirichlet boundary conditions on the plane z = 0 (and at innity).

Consider a potential problem in the half-space dened by z 0, with Dirichlet boundary conditions on the plane z = 0 (and at innity). Problem.7 Consier otentil roblem in the hlf-sce ene by z 0, with Dirichlet bounry conitions on the lne z 0 (n t innity)..7.. Write own the rorite Green function G(~x; ~x 0 ). G D (~x; ~x 0 ) (x x 0 ) (x

More information

Objectives. Materials

Objectives. Materials Techer Notes Activity 17 Fundmentl Theorem of Clculus Objectives Explore the connections between n ccumultion function, one defined by definite integrl, nd the integrnd Discover tht the derivtive of the

More information

for all x in [a,b], then the area of the region bounded by the graphs of f and g and the vertical lines x = a and x = b is b [ ( ) ( )] A= f x g x dx

for all x in [a,b], then the area of the region bounded by the graphs of f and g and the vertical lines x = a and x = b is b [ ( ) ( )] A= f x g x dx Applitions of Integrtion Are of Region Between Two Curves Ojetive: Fin the re of region etween two urves using integrtion. Fin the re of region etween interseting urves using integrtion. Desrie integrtion

More information

Math 113 Exam 2 Practice

Math 113 Exam 2 Practice Mth 3 Exm Prctice September 5, 04 Exm will cover 7.4, 7.5, 7.7, 7.8, 8.-3 nd 8.5. Plese note tht integrtion skills lerned in erlier sections will still be needed for the mteril in 7.5, 7.8 nd chpter 8.

More information

Math 113 Exam 2 Practice

Math 113 Exam 2 Practice Mth 3 Exm Prctice Februry 8, 03 Exm will cover 7.4, 7.5, 7.7, 7.8, 8.-3 nd 8.5. Plese note tht integrtion skills lerned in erlier sections will still be needed for the mteril in 7.5, 7.8 nd chpter 8. This

More information

1 The Riemann Integral

1 The Riemann Integral The Riemnn Integrl. An exmple leding to the notion of integrl (res) We know how to find (i.e. define) the re of rectngle (bse height), tringle ( (sum of res of tringles). But how do we find/define n re

More information

MORE FUNCTION GRAPHING; OPTIMIZATION. (Last edited October 28, 2013 at 11:09pm.)

MORE FUNCTION GRAPHING; OPTIMIZATION. (Last edited October 28, 2013 at 11:09pm.) MORE FUNCTION GRAPHING; OPTIMIZATION FRI, OCT 25, 203 (Lst edited October 28, 203 t :09pm.) Exercise. Let n be n rbitrry positive integer. Give n exmple of function with exctly n verticl symptotes. Give

More information

In Mathematics for Construction, we learnt that

In Mathematics for Construction, we learnt that III DOUBLE INTEGATION THE ANTIDEIVATIVE OF FUNCTIONS OF VAIABLES In Mthemtics or Construction, we lernt tht the indeinite integrl is the ntiderivtive o ( d ( Double Integrtion Pge Hence d d ( d ( The ntiderivtive

More information

( ) where f ( x ) is a. AB Calculus Exam Review Sheet. A. Precalculus Type problems. Find the zeros of f ( x).

( ) where f ( x ) is a. AB Calculus Exam Review Sheet. A. Precalculus Type problems. Find the zeros of f ( x). AB Clculus Exm Review Sheet A. Preclculus Type prolems A1 Find the zeros of f ( x). This is wht you think of doing A2 A3 Find the intersection of f ( x) nd g( x). Show tht f ( x) is even. A4 Show tht f

More information

Sample Problems for the Final of Math 121, Fall, 2005

Sample Problems for the Final of Math 121, Fall, 2005 Smple Problems for the Finl of Mth, Fll, 5 The following is collection of vrious types of smple problems covering sections.8,.,.5, nd.8 6.5 of the text which constitute only prt of the common Mth Finl.

More information

MTH 122 Fall 2008 Essex County College Division of Mathematics Handout Version 10 1 October 14, 2008

MTH 122 Fall 2008 Essex County College Division of Mathematics Handout Version 10 1 October 14, 2008 MTH 22 Fll 28 Essex County College Division of Mthemtics Hndout Version October 4, 28 Arc Length Everyone should be fmilir with the distnce formul tht ws introduced in elementry lgebr. It is bsic formul

More information

Ch AP Problems

Ch AP Problems Ch. 7.-7. AP Prolems. Willy nd his friends decided to rce ech other one fternoon. Willy volunteered to rce first. His position is descried y the function f(t). Joe, his friend from school, rced ginst him,

More information

FINALTERM EXAMINATION 9 (Session - ) Clculus & Anlyticl Geometry-I Question No: ( Mrs: ) - Plese choose one f ( x) x According to Power-Rule of differentition, if d [ x n ] n x n n x n n x + ( n ) x n+

More information

AP Calculus AB Unit 5 (Ch. 6): The Definite Integral: Day 12 Chapter 6 Review

AP Calculus AB Unit 5 (Ch. 6): The Definite Integral: Day 12 Chapter 6 Review AP Clculus AB Unit 5 (Ch. 6): The Definite Integrl: Dy Nme o Are Approximtions Riemnn Sums: LRAM, MRAM, RRAM Chpter 6 Review Trpezoidl Rule: T = h ( y + y + y +!+ y + y 0 n n) **Know how to find rectngle

More information

5.3 The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus

5.3 The Fundamental Theorem of Calculus CHAPTER 5. THE DEFINITE INTEGRAL 35 5.3 The Funmentl Theorem of Clculus Emple. Let f(t) t +. () Fin the re of the region below f(t), bove the t-is, n between t n t. (You my wnt to look up the re formul

More information

Improper Integrals. Type I Improper Integrals How do we evaluate an integral such as

Improper Integrals. Type I Improper Integrals How do we evaluate an integral such as Improper Integrls Two different types of integrls cn qulify s improper. The first type of improper integrl (which we will refer to s Type I) involves evluting n integrl over n infinite region. In the grph

More information

Chapter 0. What is the Lebesgue integral about?

Chapter 0. What is the Lebesgue integral about? Chpter 0. Wht is the Lebesgue integrl bout? The pln is to hve tutoril sheet ech week, most often on Fridy, (to be done during the clss) where you will try to get used to the ides introduced in the previous

More information

How can we approximate the area of a region in the plane? What is an interpretation of the area under the graph of a velocity function?

How can we approximate the area of a region in the plane? What is an interpretation of the area under the graph of a velocity function? Mth 125 Summry Here re some thoughts I ws hving while considering wht to put on the first midterm. The core of your studying should be the ssigned homework problems: mke sure you relly understnd those

More information

Not for reproduction

Not for reproduction AREA OF A SURFACE OF REVOLUTION cut h FIGURE FIGURE πr r r l h FIGURE A surfce of revolution is formed when curve is rotted bout line. Such surfce is the lterl boundry of solid of revolution of the type

More information

Loudoun Valley High School Calculus Summertime Fun Packet

Loudoun Valley High School Calculus Summertime Fun Packet Loudoun Vlley High School Clculus Summertime Fun Pcket We HIGHLY recommend tht you go through this pcket nd mke sure tht you know how to do everything in it. Prctice the problems tht you do NOT remember!

More information

Math 107H Topics for the first exam. csc 2 x dx = cot x + C csc x cotx dx = csc x + C tan x dx = ln secx + C cot x dx = ln sinx + C e x dx = e x + C

Math 107H Topics for the first exam. csc 2 x dx = cot x + C csc x cotx dx = csc x + C tan x dx = ln secx + C cot x dx = ln sinx + C e x dx = e x + C Integrtion Mth 07H Topics for the first exm Bsic list: x n dx = xn+ + C (provided n ) n + sin(kx) dx = cos(kx) + C k sec x dx = tnx + C sec x tnx dx = sec x + C /x dx = ln x + C cos(kx) dx = sin(kx) +

More information

Year 12 Mathematics Extension 2 HSC Trial Examination 2014

Year 12 Mathematics Extension 2 HSC Trial Examination 2014 Yer Mthemtics Etension HSC Tril Emintion 04 Generl Instructions. Reding time 5 minutes Working time hours Write using blck or blue pen. Blck pen is preferred. Bord-pproved clcultors my be used A tble of

More information

Space Curves. Recall the parametric equations of a curve in xy-plane and compare them with parametric equations of a curve in space.

Space Curves. Recall the parametric equations of a curve in xy-plane and compare them with parametric equations of a curve in space. Clculus 3 Li Vs Spce Curves Recll the prmetric equtions of curve in xy-plne nd compre them with prmetric equtions of curve in spce. Prmetric curve in plne x = x(t) y = y(t) Prmetric curve in spce x = x(t)

More information

x dx does exist, what does the answer look like? What does the answer to

x dx does exist, what does the answer look like? What does the answer to Review Guie or MAT Finl Em Prt II. Mony Decemer th 8:.m. 9:5.m. (or the 8:3.m. clss) :.m. :5.m. (or the :3.m. clss) Prt is worth 5% o your Finl Em gre. NO CALCULATORS re llowe on this portion o the Finl

More information

FINALTERM EXAMINATION 2011 Calculus &. Analytical Geometry-I

FINALTERM EXAMINATION 2011 Calculus &. Analytical Geometry-I FINALTERM EXAMINATION 011 Clculus &. Anlyticl Geometry-I Question No: 1 { Mrks: 1 ) - Plese choose one If f is twice differentible function t sttionry point x 0 x 0 nd f ''(x 0 ) > 0 then f hs reltive...

More information

Chapter 7 Notes, Stewart 8e. 7.1 Integration by Parts Trigonometric Integrals Evaluating sin m x cos n (x) dx...

Chapter 7 Notes, Stewart 8e. 7.1 Integration by Parts Trigonometric Integrals Evaluating sin m x cos n (x) dx... Contents 7.1 Integrtion by Prts................................... 2 7.2 Trigonometric Integrls.................................. 8 7.2.1 Evluting sin m x cos n (x)......................... 8 7.2.2 Evluting

More information

Section 7.1 Area of a Region Between Two Curves

Section 7.1 Area of a Region Between Two Curves Section 7.1 Are of Region Between Two Curves White Bord Chllenge The circle elow is inscried into squre: Clcultor 0 cm Wht is the shded re? 400 100 85.841cm White Bord Chllenge Find the re of the region

More information

Chapter 7: Applications of Integrals

Chapter 7: Applications of Integrals Chpter 7: Applictions of Integrls 78 Chpter 7 Overview: Applictions of Integrls Clculus, like most mthemticl fields, egn with tring to solve everd prolems. The theor nd opertions were formlized lter. As

More information

approaches as n becomes larger and larger. Since e > 1, the graph of the natural exponential function is as below

approaches as n becomes larger and larger. Since e > 1, the graph of the natural exponential function is as below . Eponentil nd rithmic functions.1 Eponentil Functions A function of the form f() =, > 0, 1 is clled n eponentil function. Its domin is the set of ll rel f ( 1) numbers. For n eponentil function f we hve.

More information

Overview of Calculus

Overview of Calculus Overview of Clculus June 6, 2016 1 Limits Clculus begins with the notion of limit. In symbols, lim f(x) = L x c In wors, however close you emn tht the function f evlute t x, f(x), to be to the limit L

More information

B Veitch. Calculus I Study Guide

B Veitch. Calculus I Study Guide Clculus I Stuy Guie This stuy guie is in no wy exhustive. As stte in clss, ny type of question from clss, quizzes, exms, n homeworks re fir gme. There s no informtion here bout the wor problems. 1. Some

More information

If we have a function f(x) which is well-defined for some a x b, its integral over those two values is defined as

If we have a function f(x) which is well-defined for some a x b, its integral over those two values is defined as Y. D. Chong (26) MH28: Complex Methos for the Sciences 2. Integrls If we hve function f(x) which is well-efine for some x, its integrl over those two vlues is efine s N ( ) f(x) = lim x f(x n ) where x

More information

f(x) dx, If one of these two conditions is not met, we call the integral improper. Our usual definition for the value for the definite integral

f(x) dx, If one of these two conditions is not met, we call the integral improper. Our usual definition for the value for the definite integral Improper Integrls Every time tht we hve evluted definite integrl such s f(x) dx, we hve mde two implicit ssumptions bout the integrl:. The intervl [, b] is finite, nd. f(x) is continuous on [, b]. If one

More information

Section 6: Area, Volume, and Average Value

Section 6: Area, Volume, and Average Value Chpter The Integrl Applied Clculus Section 6: Are, Volume, nd Averge Vlue Are We hve lredy used integrls to find the re etween the grph of function nd the horizontl xis. Integrls cn lso e used to find

More information

Final Exam Review. Exam 1 Material

Final Exam Review. Exam 1 Material Lessons 2-4: Limits Limit Solving Strtegy for Finl Exm Review Exm 1 Mteril For piecewise functions, you lwys nee to look t the left n right its! If f(x) is not piecewise function, plug c into f(x), i.e.,

More information

NATIONAL UNIVERSITY OF SINGAPORE Department of Mathematics Semester 1, 2002/2003 MA1505 Math I Suggested Solutions to T. 3

NATIONAL UNIVERSITY OF SINGAPORE Department of Mathematics Semester 1, 2002/2003 MA1505 Math I Suggested Solutions to T. 3 NATIONAL UNIVERSITY OF SINGAPORE Deprtment of Mthemtics Semester, /3 MA55 Mth I Suggested Solutions to T. 3. Using the substitution method, or otherwise, find the following integrls. Solution. ) b) x sin(x

More information

SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS

SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS Victorin CertiÞcte of Euction 007 SUPERVISOR TO ATTACH PROCESSING LABEL HERE STUDENT NUMBER Letter Figures Wors SPECIALIST MATHEMATICS Written exmintion Mony 5 November 007 Reing time: 3.00 pm to 3.5 pm

More information