Quick Review. ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics. and Q1 = Q2, what is the value of V O-dm. If R C1 = R C2. s.t. R C1. Let Q1 = Q2 and R C1

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Quick Review. ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics. and Q1 = Q2, what is the value of V O-dm. If R C1 = R C2. s.t. R C1. Let Q1 = Q2 and R C1"

Transcription

1 Quick Review If R C1 = R C2 and Q1 = Q2, what is the value of V O-dm? Let Q1 = Q2 and R C1 R C2 s.t. R C1 > R C2, express R C1 & R C2 in terms R C and ΔR C. If V O-dm is the differential output offset voltage, what is V OS? 1

2 Quick Review 0 -V OS V OS = V O dm A v dm = V V O dm OS A v dm A v dm =g m R C 2

3 Quick Review Input Referred Offset Voltages Input Offset Current V OS RC =V T V OS I S =V T R C R C I S I S I OS =I B Total Input Referred Offset Voltage V OS rms = V OS RC 2 V OS I S 2 =V T R C R C 2 I S I S 2 3

4 Quick Review - Summary 1. DC offset voltage and current occur due to mismatches in the BJT differential amplifier external resistors and transistor parameters (I s and β). 2. They are imperfections that are inherent to all differential amplifiers and their applications (e.g. op amps). 3. DC offset voltage and current are statistical quantities, i.e. no two differential amplifiers will have the same offset voltage and current. 4. MOS differential amplifiers have zero offset current. 4

5 Differential Amplifier with Active Loads Active load basics PNP BJT current mirror Small signal model Design example and simulation Comparison of CMRR with resistive load design 5

6 Differential Amp Active Loads Basics 1 Vcc Rc1 Vcg2 Vcg1 Rc2 Iref Rref Vcc Q5 Q6 Q7 Rb1 Rb2 Vee + + Vc1 Vc2 Iref1 Rref1 Rref2 Iref2 + Vi1 Q1 Q2 + Vi2 r o = V A I C R C R C2 r o7 R C1 r o6 Q3 Q4 -Vee PROBLEM: Op. Pt. V C1, V C2 very sensitive to mismatch I ref1 I ref2. 6

7 Differential Amp Active Loads Basics 2 I C2 I C2, I C7 slope = -1/R C2 V BE2 slope = -1/r o7 V BE2 V CC V CE2 V CC V CE2 7

8 Differential Amp Active Loads Basics 3 V c1 V c2 V V c1 c2 PROBLEM: Op. Pt. V C1, V C2 very sensitive to mismatch I ref1 I ref2. SOLUTION: all currents referenced to I ref1. Op. Pt. sensitivity eliminated. COST: output single-ended only. GOOD NEWS: CMRR is much improved over resistive-load differential amp single-ended CMRR. 8

9 NOTES A pnp current mirror (source) is an effective active load for an npn CE stage. As we will later see, the collector resistance equals the parallel combination of output resistances of the active load stage and the gain stage BJTs. I source An npn current mirror stage (sink) is also an effective active load for an npn emitter-follower (CC) stage. I sink 9

10 V CC r o3 Q2 Q3 I C3 =I C1 I REF2 V C1 R ref2 I REF1 Q1 R ref1 I C5 =I E1 Q5 Q6 r o5 V EE If I REF1 and I REF2 are different by 4%, the Q1 collector voltage V C1 will change by about 2V. 10

11 Quick Review - PNP BJT I R 1 V B I B R E I E Voltage bias equations: I E = V CC V EB V B R E 0.7 V R 2 R C I C I E = V CC V B 0.7 R E Note reference current directions! V B I R 2 = R 2 R 1 R 2 V CC I I E 10 11

12 Quick Review - PNP BJT R 1 i B R E i E Usual Large signal equations: i C =I S e v EB V T npn i C =I S e v BE V T R 2 R C i C i B = i C i E =i C i B = 1 i C i C = i E 12

13 Quick Review - PNP BJT Quick Review - PNP Small Signal Model i b i c i b i c i e i e 13

14 PNP Mirror Q1 = Q2: g m1 = g m2 = g mp ; r e1 = r e2 = r ep ; r π1 = r π2 = r πp ; β 1 = β 2 = β p g m v eb I Q1 R REF Q2 I r πp g r V CC =V EB1 I R mp v eb op REF I = V CC 0.7 R REF B1 E1 C1 ix Small signal model: B2 r πp E2 g mp v eb C2 r op v EB2 =v EB1 14

15 PNP Mirror Small signal model: E1 ix E2 r πp B1 C1 g mp v eb Current i x into the emitter of Q1: r op B2 r πp g mp v eb C2 r op recall r p = p g mb i x = v eb r p g mp v eb = 1 r p g mp v eb r ep = r p p 1 = i g mp x g p mp v = 1 p eb p g mp v eb v eb r ep 15

16 ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics Simplified Mid-band DM Small Signal Model v i-dm Q1 i e v be2 = v eb1 Q3 I Q4 i e Q2 v c4-dm v i-dm V CC V EE v i-dm Q3 = Q4 Q1 = Q2 i r v c4-dm is single-ended output. ocs virtual ground v e = 0, i = 0 NOTE: 1. Due to imbalance created by active load current mirror, only singleended output is available from common collector of Q2 and Q4. 2. Q3, Q4 emitter symmetry creates virtual ground at amplifier emitter connection. B3 r πn B1=C1 r on E1 r ep r op r πp g mp v eb1 r op B2 C2 C3 C4 B4 g mn vdm v i-dm i e E3 v e E2 E4 i e r on vdm g mn v i-dm r πn v c4-dm 16 v i-dm

17 Simplified DM Small Signal Model cont. Matched NPN: Q3 = Q4 g m3 =g m4 =g mn r e3 =r e4 =r en r 3 =r 4 =r n r o3 =r o4 =r on combining parallel resistances to ground r ep r op r p r on r ep B3 E1 C3=B1=C1=B2 r πn v i-dm v i-dm E3 r ep g mn vdm v i-dm From previous slide r ep r op r p r on r ep C2 r on E4 g mp v eb1 C4 E2 vdm r πn g mn v i-dm r op B4 v i-dm v c4-dm r on r ep r op r ocs r p Matched PNP Q1 = Q2 g m1 =g m2 =g mp r e1 =r e2 =r ep v c4-dm virtual ground r 1 =r 2 =r p r o1 =r o2 =r op 17

18 Simplified DM Small Signal Model - cont. From previous slide: r ep r op r p r on r ep B3 1 r n B1 E1 r ep vdm Matched NPN: Q3 = Q4 Matched PNP: Q1 = Q2 vdm v i-dm v i-dm Matched NPN & PNP transistors have been assumed throughout. 2 g mn v i dm i c2 r on C2 g mp v eb1 C4 i c4 3 E2 r n r op B4 v eb1 g mn v i dm 2 r ep i c2 =g mp v eb1 =g mp g mn where: r ep 1 g mp E3 E4 hence: g mn v i dm virtual ground v c4 dm Determine i c2 and i c4 : by inspection: 1 v i dm 2 r ep i c2 g mn v i dm 2 v i dm i c4 =g mn 2 i c2 i c

19 Simplified DM Small Signal Model - cont. Matched NPN: Q3 = Q4 Matched PNP: Q1 = Q2 Note that the resistors r op (PNP) & r on (NPN) are in parallel, and driven by two nearly equal parallel VCCSs. r ep g mn v i dm v c4 dm R o =r op r on r o r o = r o 2 v i dm v c4 dm = i c2 i c4 R o =2 g mn 2 R o v c4 dm =g mn R o v i dm From previous slide: i c2 g mn v i dm 2 =i c4 g mn v i dm A v dm4 = v c4 dm v i dm =g mn r op r on r op A v cm4 = v c4 cm also = v i cm p r ocs r o = bias current source output resistance 19

20 Quick Review Iref1? Iref1 What is accomplished by the progression differential amplifier circuits from 1. to 2. above? What is accomplished by the progression differential amplifier circuits from 2. to 3. above? Is circuit 3. a perfect replacement for circuit 1.? 20

21 Quick Review r op r on 21

22 Quick Review v eb1 g mn v i dm 2 r ep g mp v eb1 =g mp g mn v i dm 2 r ep =g mn v i dm 2 B1=C1=B2=C3 B3 g mn v i-dm v eb1 C2=C4 g mp v eb1 i c2 r on r op B4 E1=E3 E2=E4 Next show: A v cm4 = v c4 cm v i cm = v c4 dm = g mp v eb1 g mn v i dm 2 r on r op =g mn v i dm r on r op r op p r ocs A v dm4 = v c4 dm v i dm =g mn r op r on where r ocs = I output resistance 22

23 Simplified Mid-band CM Small Signal Model Matched NPN: Q3 = Q4 (r en, r πn, g mn, β n ) Matched PNP: Q1 = Q2 (r ep, r πp, g mp, β p ) E1 = E2 i e r ep r p B1=C1 = B2 B3 r n r on v i-cm v eb1 C3 n i b E3 vcm v e E4 B2 i c4 r on g mp v eb1 C2 C4 B4 n vcm i b i rop =g mp v eb1 i c4 r op v c4-cm r n v i-cm i e i e v i cm = r n 1 i e 2 r ocs i e 2 r ocs i e i e v i cm 2 r ocs v i cm v eb1 =r pi p r ep i e =r p r ep 2 r ocs i = 2i e r ocs i c4 = n i b i e v i cm 2 r ocs. 0 v c4 cm =r op g mp v eb1 i c4 =r op g mp r p r ep 1 v i cm 2 r ocs 23

24 Simplified CM Small Signal Model - cont. r ep r p i c4 g mp v eb1 r op v c4-cm r b r ep = r ep r ep 1 p r ep r ep 1 p = r ep 1 p 2 p g mp = p r p = p 1 p 1 r ep v i-cm r n r on n i b v e r on n i b r n v i-cm From previous slide ii i e r ocs i e v c4 cm = r op g 2 r mp r p r ep 1 v i cm ocs g mp r p r ep = p 1 r ep 1 p = p 1 p r ep 2 p 2 p A v cm = v c4 cm = r op g v i cm 2 r mp r p r ep 1 = r op p 1 ocs 2 r ocs 2 p.= r op 2 r ocs 2 2 p r op 2 r ocs 2 p r op r op => A v cm4 = 2 p r ocs p r ocs 24

25 I REF DM Diff Amp 2N3906 PNP Active Loads v c2-dm Design: set R3 for I REF = 10 ma R3= 23.3V 10 ma =2.33 k A v dm2 = v o dm v i dm =g m r o2 r o8 v i-dm A v-dm2(db) = khz = MHz Matched NPN: Q1 = Q2 = Q3 = Q4 Matched PNP: Q7 = Q8 25

26 CM Diff Amp 2N3906 PNP Active Loads v c2-cm A v cm2 = v c2 cm v i cm A v-cm2(db) = khz = MHz A v-dm2(db) = khz v i-cm Matched NPN: Q1 = Q2 = Q3 = Q4 Matched PNP: Q7 = Q8 Note: 55 db 20log CMRR=20 log 10 A v dm2 A v cm2.= A v dm2 db A v cm2 db = k Hz 26

27 CMRR Comparison cont. R C 56kΩ 56k Ohm v c2 R56k C Ohm 56kΩ R 2.33k ref Ohm 233kΩ v c2 R E R E 100Ω 100Ω v i-dm v-dm I v i-dm v-dm v i-dm ref =0.2 ma v v i-dm i-cm r o =500 k v i-cm I ref =10 ma A v dm2 db =20 log 10 R C R E =55 k Hz R A v cm2 db =20log C 10 = khz 2 r o CMRR = 80 1 khz Sanity Check: V Rc = (56 kω) (0.1 ma) = 5.6 V! A v-dm2(db) = 55 1 khz A v-cm2(db) = khz CMRR = khz 27

28 Summary Active load advantages: 1. Minimizes number of passive elements needed. 2. Can produce very high gain in one stage. 3. Much larger single-ended CMRR then single-ended CMRR for resistive load differential amplifier. 3. Inherent differential-to-single-ended conversion. Active load disadvantages: 1. No differential output available. 28

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics. BJT Biasing Cont.

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics. BJT Biasing Cont. BJT Biasing Cont. Biasing for DC Operating Point Stability BJT Bias Using Emitter Negative Feedback Single Supply BJT Bias Scheme Constant Current BJT Bias Scheme Rule of Thumb BJT Bias Design 1 Simple

More information

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics. Output Stages

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics. Output Stages Output Stages Power amplifier classification Class A amplifier circuits Class A Power conversion efficiency Class B amplifier circuits Class B Power conversion efficiency Class AB amplifier circuits Class

More information

Class AB Output Stage

Class AB Output Stage Class AB Output Stage Class AB amplifier Operation Multisim Simulation - VTC Class AB amplifier biasing Widlar current source Multisim Simulation - Biasing 1 Class AB Operation v I V B (set by V B ) Basic

More information

EE 321 Analog Electronics, Fall 2013 Homework #8 solution

EE 321 Analog Electronics, Fall 2013 Homework #8 solution EE 321 Analog Electronics, Fall 2013 Homework #8 solution 5.110. The following table summarizes some of the basic attributes of a number of BJTs of different types, operating as amplifiers under various

More information

BJT Biasing Cont. & Small Signal Model

BJT Biasing Cont. & Small Signal Model BJT Biasing Cont. & Small Signal Model Conservative Bias Design (1/3, 1/3, 1/3 Rule) Bias Design Example Small-Signal BJT Models Small-Signal Analysis 1 Emitter Feedback Bias Design R B R C V CC R 1 R

More information

The BJT Differential Amplifier. Basic Circuit. DC Solution

The BJT Differential Amplifier. Basic Circuit. DC Solution c Copyright 010. W. Marshall Leach, Jr., Professor, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The BJT Differential Amplifier Basic Circuit Figure 1 shows the circuit

More information

BJT Biasing Cont. & Small Signal Model

BJT Biasing Cont. & Small Signal Model BJT Biasing Cont. & Small Signal Model Conservative Bias Design Bias Design Example Small Signal BJT Models Small Signal Analysis 1 Emitter Feedback Bias Design Voltage bias circuit Single power supply

More information

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics Common Emitter BJT Amplifier

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics Common Emitter BJT Amplifier Common Emitter BJT Amplifier 1 Adding a signal source to the single power supply bias amplifier R C R 1 R C V CC V CC V B R E R 2 R E Desired effect addition of bias and signal sources Starting point -

More information

EE105 Fall 2014 Microelectronic Devices and Circuits

EE105 Fall 2014 Microelectronic Devices and Circuits EE05 Fall 204 Microelectronic Devices and Circuits Prof. Ming C. Wu wu@eecs.berkeley.edu 5 Sutardja Dai Hall (SDH) Terminal Gain and I/O Resistances of BJT Amplifiers Emitter (CE) Collector (CC) Base (CB)

More information

Biasing the CE Amplifier

Biasing the CE Amplifier Biasing the CE Amplifier Graphical approach: plot I C as a function of the DC base-emitter voltage (note: normally plot vs. base current, so we must return to Ebers-Moll): I C I S e V BE V th I S e V th

More information

FYSE400 ANALOG ELECTRONICS

FYSE400 ANALOG ELECTRONICS YSE400 ANALOG ELECTONCS LECTUE 3 Bipolar Sub Circuits 1 BPOLA SUB CCUTS Bipolar Current Sinks and -Sources Transistor operates in forwardactive region. < < sat CE CN max CE < < + BN CN BN max CE N N N

More information

Chapter 2 - DC Biasing - BJTs

Chapter 2 - DC Biasing - BJTs Objectives Chapter 2 - DC Biasing - BJTs To Understand: Concept of Operating point and stability Analyzing Various biasing circuits and their comparison with respect to stability BJT A Review Invented

More information

figure shows a pnp transistor biased to operate in the active mode

figure shows a pnp transistor biased to operate in the active mode Lecture 10b EE-215 Electronic Devices and Circuits Asst Prof Muhammad Anis Chaudhary BJT: Device Structure and Physical Operation The pnp Transistor figure shows a pnp transistor biased to operate in the

More information

Homework Assignment 08

Homework Assignment 08 Homework Assignment 08 Question 1 (Short Takes) Two points each unless otherwise indicated. 1. Give one phrase/sentence that describes the primary advantage of an active load. Answer: Large effective resistance

More information

Chapter 13 Small-Signal Modeling and Linear Amplification

Chapter 13 Small-Signal Modeling and Linear Amplification Chapter 13 Small-Signal Modeling and Linear Amplification Microelectronic Circuit Design Richard C. Jaeger Travis N. Blalock 1/4/12 Chap 13-1 Chapter Goals Understanding of concepts related to: Transistors

More information

ECE-343 Test 2: Mar 21, :00-8:00, Closed Book. Name : SOLUTION

ECE-343 Test 2: Mar 21, :00-8:00, Closed Book. Name : SOLUTION ECE-343 Test 2: Mar 21, 2012 6:00-8:00, Closed Book Name : SOLUTION 1. (25 pts) (a) Draw a circuit diagram for a differential amplifier designed under the following constraints: Use only BJTs. (You may

More information

Chapter 2. - DC Biasing - BJTs

Chapter 2. - DC Biasing - BJTs Chapter 2. - DC Biasing - BJTs Objectives To Understand : Concept of Operating point and stability Analyzing Various biasing circuits and their comparison with respect to stability BJT A Review Invented

More information

Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT) - Introduction

Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT) - Introduction Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT) - Introduction It was found in 1948 at the Bell Telephone Laboratories. It is a three terminal device and has three semiconductor regions. It can be used in signal amplification

More information

Circle the one best answer for each question. Five points per question.

Circle the one best answer for each question. Five points per question. ID # NAME EE-255 EXAM 3 November 8, 2001 Instructor (circle one) Talavage Gray This exam consists of 16 multiple choice questions and one workout problem. Record all answers to the multiple choice questions

More information

Electronic Circuits Summary

Electronic Circuits Summary Electronic Circuits Summary Andreas Biri, D-ITET 6.06.4 Constants (@300K) ε 0 = 8.854 0 F m m 0 = 9. 0 3 kg k =.38 0 3 J K = 8.67 0 5 ev/k kt q = 0.059 V, q kt = 38.6, kt = 5.9 mev V Small Signal Equivalent

More information

55:041 Electronic Circuits The University of Iowa Fall Final Exam

55:041 Electronic Circuits The University of Iowa Fall Final Exam Final Exam Name: Score Max: 135 Question 1 (1 point unless otherwise noted) a. What is the maximum theoretical efficiency for a class-b amplifier? Answer: 78% b. The abbreviation/term ESR is often encountered

More information

EE-201 Review Exam I. 1. The voltage Vx in the circuit below is: (1) 3V (2) 2V (3) -2V (4) 1V (5) -1V (6) None of above

EE-201 Review Exam I. 1. The voltage Vx in the circuit below is: (1) 3V (2) 2V (3) -2V (4) 1V (5) -1V (6) None of above EE-201, Review Probs Test 1 page-1 Spring 98 EE-201 Review Exam I Multiple Choice (5 points each, no partial credit.) 1. The voltage Vx in the circuit below is: (1) 3V (2) 2V (3) -2V (4) 1V (5) -1V (6)

More information

Lecture 24 Multistage Amplifiers (I) MULTISTAGE AMPLIFIER

Lecture 24 Multistage Amplifiers (I) MULTISTAGE AMPLIFIER Lecture 24 Multistage Amplifiers (I) MULTISTAGE AMPLIFIER Outline. Introduction 2. CMOS multi-stage voltage amplifier 3. BiCMOS multistage voltage amplifier 4. BiCMOS current buffer 5. Coupling amplifier

More information

c Copyright 2009. W. Marshall Leach, Jr., Professor, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Feedback Amplifiers CollectionofSolvedProblems A collection of solved

More information

General Purpose Transistors

General Purpose Transistors General Purpose Transistors NPN and PNP Silicon These transistors are designed for general purpose amplifier applications. They are housed in the SOT 33/SC which is designed for low power surface mount

More information

GEORGIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY School of Electrical and Computer Engineering

GEORGIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY School of Electrical and Computer Engineering NAME: GEORGIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY School of Electrical and Computer Engineering ECE 4430 Third Exam Closed Book and Notes Fall 2002 November 27, 2002 General Instructions: 1. Write on one side of the

More information

UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, BERKELEY College of Engineering Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences

UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, BERKELEY College of Engineering Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, BERKELEY College of Engineering Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences EE 105: Microelectronic Devices and Circuits Spring 2008 MIDTERM EXAMINATION #1 Time

More information

Chapter 5. BJT AC Analysis

Chapter 5. BJT AC Analysis Chapter 5. Outline: The r e transistor model CB, CE & CC AC analysis through r e model common-emitter fixed-bias voltage-divider bias emitter-bias & emitter-follower common-base configuration Transistor

More information

Section 1: Common Emitter CE Amplifier Design

Section 1: Common Emitter CE Amplifier Design ECE 3274 BJT amplifier design CE, CE with Ref, and CC. Richard Cooper Section 1: CE amp Re completely bypassed (open Loop) Section 2: CE amp Re partially bypassed (gain controlled). Section 3: CC amp (open

More information

Figure 1 Basic epitaxial planar structure of NPN. Figure 2 The 3 regions of NPN (left) and PNP (right) type of transistors

Figure 1 Basic epitaxial planar structure of NPN. Figure 2 The 3 regions of NPN (left) and PNP (right) type of transistors Figure 1 Basic epitaxial planar structure of NPN Figure 2 The 3 regions of NPN (left) and PNP (right) type of transistors Lecture Notes: 2304154 Physics and Electronics Lecture 6 (2 nd Half), Year: 2007

More information

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics. Feedback Basics

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics. Feedback Basics Feedback Basics Stability Feedback concept Feedback in emitter follower One-pole feedback and root locus Frequency dependent feedback and root locus Gain and phase margins Conditions for closed loop stability

More information

Introduction to Transistors. Semiconductors Diodes Transistors

Introduction to Transistors. Semiconductors Diodes Transistors Introduction to Transistors Semiconductors Diodes Transistors 1 Semiconductors Typical semiconductors, like silicon and germanium, have four valence electrons which form atomic bonds with neighboring atoms

More information

Final Exam. 55:041 Electronic Circuits. The University of Iowa. Fall 2013.

Final Exam. 55:041 Electronic Circuits. The University of Iowa. Fall 2013. Final Exam Name: Max: 130 Points Question 1 In the circuit shown, the op-amp is ideal, except for an input bias current I b = 1 na. Further, R F = 10K, R 1 = 100 Ω and C = 1 μf. The switch is opened at

More information

Operational Amplifiers

Operational Amplifiers Operational Amplifiers A Linear IC circuit Operational Amplifier (op-amp) An op-amp is a high-gain amplifier that has high input impedance and low output impedance. An ideal op-amp has infinite gain and

More information

CHAPTER.6 :TRANSISTOR FREQUENCY RESPONSE

CHAPTER.6 :TRANSISTOR FREQUENCY RESPONSE CHAPTER.6 :TRANSISTOR FREQUENCY RESPONSE To understand Decibels, log scale, general frequency considerations of an amplifier. low frequency analysis - Bode plot low frequency response BJT amplifier Miller

More information

The Common-Emitter Amplifier

The Common-Emitter Amplifier c Copyright 2009. W. Marshall Leach, Jr., Professor, Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The Common-Emitter Amplifier Basic Circuit Fig. shows the circuit diagram

More information

CARLETON UNIVERSITY. FINAL EXAMINATION December DURATION 3 HOURS No. of Students 130

CARLETON UNIVERSITY. FINAL EXAMINATION December DURATION 3 HOURS No. of Students 130 ALETON UNIVESITY FINAL EXAMINATION December 005 DUATION 3 HOUS No. of Students 130 Department Name & ourse Number: Electronics ELE 3509 ourse Instructor(s): Prof. John W. M. ogers and alvin Plett AUTHOIZED

More information

CHAPTER.4: Transistor at low frequencies

CHAPTER.4: Transistor at low frequencies CHAPTER.4: Transistor at low frequencies Introduction Amplification in the AC domain BJT transistor modeling The re Transistor Model The Hybrid equivalent Model Introduction There are three models commonly

More information

Whereas the diode was a 1-junction device, the transistor contains two junctions. This leads to two possibilities:

Whereas the diode was a 1-junction device, the transistor contains two junctions. This leads to two possibilities: Part Recall: two types of charge carriers in semiconductors: electrons & holes two types of doped semiconductors: n-type (favor e-), p-type (favor holes) for conduction Whereas the diode was a -junction

More information

Transistor Characteristics and A simple BJT Current Mirror

Transistor Characteristics and A simple BJT Current Mirror Transistor Characteristics and A simple BJT Current Mirror Current-oltage (I-) Characteristics Device Under Test DUT i v T T 1 R X R X T for test Independent variable on horizontal axis Could force current

More information

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics. Feedback Basics

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics. Feedback Basics Feedback Basics Feedback concept Feedback in emitter follower Stability One-pole feedback and root locus Frequency dependent feedback and root locus Gain and phase margins Conditions for closed loop stability

More information

Operational amplifiers (Op amps)

Operational amplifiers (Op amps) Operational amplifiers (Op amps) v R o R i v i Av i v View it as an ideal amp. Take the properties to the extreme: R i, R o 0, A.?!?!?!?! v v i Av i v A Consequences: No voltage dividers at input or output.

More information

Input Stage. V IC(max) V BE1. V CE 5(sat ) V IC(min) = V CC +V BE 3 = V EE. + V CE1(sat )

Input Stage. V IC(max) V BE1. V CE 5(sat ) V IC(min) = V CC +V BE 3 = V EE. + V CE1(sat ) BJT OPAMPs Input Stage The input stage is similar to MOS design. Take a pnp input stage (Q1- Q2) with npn current mirror load (Q3- Q4) and a pnp tail current source (Q5). Then, V IC(max) = V CC V BE1 V

More information

Review - Differential Amplifier Basics Difference- and common-mode signals: v ID

Review - Differential Amplifier Basics Difference- and common-mode signals: v ID 6.012 Microelectronic Devices and Circuits Lecture 20 DiffAmp Anal. I: Metrics, Max. Gain Outline Announcements Announcements D.P.: No Early effect in large signal analysis; just LECs. Lec. 21 foils useful;

More information

MICROELECTRONIC CIRCUIT DESIGN Second Edition

MICROELECTRONIC CIRCUIT DESIGN Second Edition MICROELECTRONIC CIRCUIT DESIGN Second Edition Richard C. Jaeger and Travis N. Blalock Answers to Selected Problems Updated 10/23/06 Chapter 1 1.3 1.52 years, 5.06 years 1.5 2.00 years, 6.65 years 1.8 113

More information

Assignment 3 ELEC 312/Winter 12 R.Raut, Ph.D.

Assignment 3 ELEC 312/Winter 12 R.Raut, Ph.D. Page 1 of 3 ELEC 312: ELECTRONICS II : ASSIGNMENT-3 Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Winter 2012 1. A common-emitter amplifier that can be represented by the following equivalent circuit,

More information

Chapter 3 Output stages

Chapter 3 Output stages Chapter 3 utput stages 3.. Goals and properties 3.. Goals and properties deliver power into the load with good efficacy and small power dissipate on the final transistors small output impedance maximum

More information

Lecture 140 Simple Op Amps (2/11/02) Page 140-1

Lecture 140 Simple Op Amps (2/11/02) Page 140-1 Lecture 40 Simple Op Amps (2//02) Page 40 LECTURE 40 SIMPLE OP AMPS (READING: TextGHLM 425434, 453454, AH 249253) INTRODUCTION The objective of this presentation is:.) Illustrate the analysis of BJT and

More information

University of Pennsylvania Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering ESE 319 Microelectronic Circuits. Final Exam 10Dec08 SOLUTIONS

University of Pennsylvania Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering ESE 319 Microelectronic Circuits. Final Exam 10Dec08 SOLUTIONS University of Pennsylvania Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering ESE 319 Microelectronic Circuits Final Exam 10Dec08 SOLUTIONS This exam is a closed book exam. Students are allowed to use a

More information

1. (50 points, BJT curves & equivalent) For the 2N3904 =(npn) and the 2N3906 =(pnp)

1. (50 points, BJT curves & equivalent) For the 2N3904 =(npn) and the 2N3906 =(pnp) HW 3 1. (50 points, BJT curves & equivalent) For the 2N3904 =(npn) and the 2N3906 =(pnp) a) Obtain in Spice the transistor curves given on the course web page except do in separate plots, one for the npn

More information

DC Biasing. Dr. U. Sezen & Dr. D. Gökçen (Hacettepe Uni.) ELE230 Electronics I 15-Mar / 59

DC Biasing. Dr. U. Sezen & Dr. D. Gökçen (Hacettepe Uni.) ELE230 Electronics I 15-Mar / 59 Contents Three States of Operation BJT DC Analysis Fixed-Bias Circuit Emitter-Stabilized Bias Circuit Voltage Divider Bias Circuit DC Bias with Voltage Feedback Various Dierent Bias Circuits pnp Transistors

More information

Electronics II. Midterm II

Electronics II. Midterm II The University of Toledo su7ms_elct7.fm - Electronics II Midterm II Problems Points. 7. 7 3. 6 Total 0 Was the exam fair? yes no The University of Toledo su7ms_elct7.fm - Problem 7 points Equation (-)

More information

ECE 304: Design Issues for Voltage Follower as Output Stage S&S Chapter 14, pp

ECE 304: Design Issues for Voltage Follower as Output Stage S&S Chapter 14, pp ECE 34: Design Issues for oltage Follower as Output Stage S&S Chapter 14, pp. 131133 Introduction The voltage follower provides a good buffer between a differential amplifier and a load in two ways: 1.

More information

Tutorial #4: Bias Point Analysis in Multisim

Tutorial #4: Bias Point Analysis in Multisim SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING AND APPLIED SCIENCE DEPARTMENT OF ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING ECE 2115: ENGINEERING ELECTRONICS LABORATORY Tutorial #4: Bias Point Analysis in Multisim INTRODUCTION When BJTs

More information

CE/CS Amplifier Response at High Frequencies

CE/CS Amplifier Response at High Frequencies .. CE/CS Amplifier Response at High Frequencies INEL 4202 - Manuel Toledo August 20, 2012 INEL 4202 - Manuel Toledo CE/CS High Frequency Analysis 1/ 24 Outline.1 High Frequency Models.2 Simplified Method.3

More information

Biasing BJTs CHAPTER OBJECTIVES 4.1 INTRODUCTION

Biasing BJTs CHAPTER OBJECTIVES 4.1 INTRODUCTION 4 DC Biasing BJTs CHAPTER OBJECTIVES Be able to determine the dc levels for the variety of important BJT configurations. Understand how to measure the important voltage levels of a BJT transistor configuration

More information

Notes for course EE1.1 Circuit Analysis TOPIC 10 2-PORT CIRCUITS

Notes for course EE1.1 Circuit Analysis TOPIC 10 2-PORT CIRCUITS Objectives: Introduction Notes for course EE1.1 Circuit Analysis 4-5 Re-examination of 1-port sub-circuits Admittance parameters for -port circuits TOPIC 1 -PORT CIRCUITS Gain and port impedance from -port

More information

At point G V = = = = = = RB B B. IN RB f

At point G V = = = = = = RB B B. IN RB f Common Emitter At point G CE RC 0. 4 12 0. 4 116. I C RC 116. R 1k C 116. ma I IC 116. ma β 100 F 116µ A I R ( 116µ A)( 20kΩ) 2. 3 R + 2. 3 + 0. 7 30. IN R f Gain in Constant Current Region I I I C F

More information

ECE2210 Final given: Spring 08

ECE2210 Final given: Spring 08 ECE Final given: Spring 0. Note: feel free to show answers & work right on the schematic 1. (1 pts) The ammeter, A, reads 30 ma. a) The power dissipated by R is 0.7 W, what is the value of R. Assume that

More information

RIB. ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING Analog Electronics. 8 Electrical Engineering RIB-R T7. Detailed Explanations. Rank Improvement Batch ANSWERS.

RIB. ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING Analog Electronics. 8 Electrical Engineering RIB-R T7. Detailed Explanations. Rank Improvement Batch ANSWERS. 8 Electrical Engineering RIB-R T7 Session 08-9 S.No. : 9078_LS RIB Rank Improvement Batch ELECTRICL ENGINEERING nalog Electronics NSWERS. (d) 7. (a) 3. (c) 9. (a) 5. (d). (d) 8. (c) 4. (c) 0. (c) 6. (b)

More information

Chapter 9 Bipolar Junction Transistor

Chapter 9 Bipolar Junction Transistor hapter 9 ipolar Junction Transistor hapter 9 - JT ipolar Junction Transistor JT haracteristics NPN, PNP JT D iasing ollector haracteristic and Load Line ipolar Junction Transistor (JT) JT is a three-terminal

More information

KOM2751 Analog Electronics :: Dr. Muharrem Mercimek :: YTU - Control and Automation Dept. 1 4 DC BIASING BJTS (CONT D II )

KOM2751 Analog Electronics :: Dr. Muharrem Mercimek :: YTU - Control and Automation Dept. 1 4 DC BIASING BJTS (CONT D II ) KOM2751 Analog Electronics :: Dr. Muharrem Mercimek :: YTU - Control and Automation Dept. 1 4 DC BIASING BJTS (CONT D II ) Most of the content is from the textbook: Electronic devices and circuit theory,

More information

Forward-Active Terminal Currents

Forward-Active Terminal Currents Forward-Active Terminal Currents Collector current: (electron diffusion current density) x (emitter area) diff J n AE qd n n po A E V E V th ------------------------------ e W (why minus sign? is by def.

More information

Lecture 150 Simple BJT Op Amps (1/28/04) Page 150-1

Lecture 150 Simple BJT Op Amps (1/28/04) Page 150-1 Lecture 50 Simple BJT Op Amps (/28/04) Page 50 LECTURE 50 SIMPLE BJT OP AMPS (READING: TextGHLM 425434, 453454, AH 249253) INTRODUCTION The objective of this presentation is:.) Illustrate the analysis

More information

7. DESIGN OF AC-COUPLED BJT AMPLIFIERS FOR MAXIMUM UNDISTORTED VOLTAGE SWING

7. DESIGN OF AC-COUPLED BJT AMPLIFIERS FOR MAXIMUM UNDISTORTED VOLTAGE SWING à 7. DESIGN OF AC-COUPLED BJT AMPLIFIERS FOR MAXIMUM UNDISTORTED VOLTAGE SWING Figure. AC coupled common emitter amplifier circuit ü The DC Load Line V CC = I CQ + V CEQ + R E I EQ I EQ = I CQ + I BQ I

More information

ECEN 326 Electronic Circuits

ECEN 326 Electronic Circuits ECEN 326 Electronic Circuits Frequency Response Dr. Aydın İlker Karşılayan Texas A&M University Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering High-Frequency Model BJT & MOS B or G r x C f C or D r

More information

Electronics II. Final Examination

Electronics II. Final Examination The University of Toledo f17fs_elct27.fm 1 Electronics II Final Examination Problems Points 1. 11 2. 14 3. 15 Total 40 Was the exam fair? yes no The University of Toledo f17fs_elct27.fm 2 Problem 1 11

More information

EE 321 Analog Electronics, Fall 2013 Homework #3 solution

EE 321 Analog Electronics, Fall 2013 Homework #3 solution EE 32 Analog Electronics, Fall 203 Homework #3 solution 2.47. (a) Use superposition to show that the output of the circuit in Fig. P2.47 is given by + [ Rf v N + R f v N2 +... + R ] f v Nn R N R N2 R [

More information

ID # NAME. EE-255 EXAM 3 April 7, Instructor (circle one) Ogborn Lundstrom

ID # NAME. EE-255 EXAM 3 April 7, Instructor (circle one) Ogborn Lundstrom ID # NAME EE-255 EXAM 3 April 7, 1998 Instructor (circle one) Ogborn Lundstrom This exam consists of 20 multiple choice questions. Record all answers on this page, but you must turn in the entire exam.

More information

Homework Assignment 09

Homework Assignment 09 Homework Assignment 09 Question 1 (Short Takes) Two points each unless otherwise indicated. 1. What is the 3-dB bandwidth of the amplifier shown below if r π = 2.5K, r o = 100K, g m = 40 ms, and C L =

More information

ECE-342 Test 3: Nov 30, :00-8:00, Closed Book. Name : Solution

ECE-342 Test 3: Nov 30, :00-8:00, Closed Book. Name : Solution ECE-342 Test 3: Nov 30, 2010 6:00-8:00, Closed Book Name : Solution All solutions must provide units as appropriate. Unless otherwise stated, assume T = 300 K. 1. (25 pts) Consider the amplifier shown

More information

EE105 Fall 2015 Microelectronic Devices and Circuits Frequency Response. Prof. Ming C. Wu 511 Sutardja Dai Hall (SDH)

EE105 Fall 2015 Microelectronic Devices and Circuits Frequency Response. Prof. Ming C. Wu 511 Sutardja Dai Hall (SDH) EE05 Fall 205 Microelectronic Devices and Circuits Frequency Response Prof. Ming C. Wu wu@eecs.berkeley.edu 5 Sutardja Dai Hall (SDH) Amplifier Frequency Response: Lower and Upper Cutoff Frequency Midband

More information

DESIGN MICROELECTRONICS ELCT 703 (W17) LECTURE 3: OP-AMP CMOS CIRCUIT. Dr. Eman Azab Assistant Professor Office: C

DESIGN MICROELECTRONICS ELCT 703 (W17) LECTURE 3: OP-AMP CMOS CIRCUIT. Dr. Eman Azab Assistant Professor Office: C MICROELECTRONICS ELCT 703 (W17) LECTURE 3: OP-AMP CMOS CIRCUIT DESIGN Dr. Eman Azab Assistant Professor Office: C3.315 E-mail: eman.azab@guc.edu.eg 1 TWO STAGE CMOS OP-AMP It consists of two stages: First

More information

Microelectronic Circuit Design 4th Edition Errata - Updated 4/4/14

Microelectronic Circuit Design 4th Edition Errata - Updated 4/4/14 Chapter Text # Inside back cover: Triode region equation should not be squared! i D = K n v GS "V TN " v & DS % ( v DS $ 2 ' Page 49, first exercise, second answer: -1.35 x 10 6 cm/s Page 58, last exercise,

More information

ECE-342 Test 2 Solutions, Nov 4, :00-8:00pm, Closed Book (one page of notes allowed)

ECE-342 Test 2 Solutions, Nov 4, :00-8:00pm, Closed Book (one page of notes allowed) ECE-342 Test 2 Solutions, Nov 4, 2008 6:00-8:00pm, Closed Book (one page of notes allowed) Please use the following physical constants in your calculations: Boltzmann s Constant: Electron Charge: Free

More information

Feedback Control G 1+FG A

Feedback Control G 1+FG A Introduction to Operational Amplifiers Circuit Functionality So far, only passive circuits (C, L and LC) have been analyzed in terms of the time-domain operator T and the frequency-domain operator A(ω),

More information

Electronic Circuits. Prof. Dr. Qiuting Huang Integrated Systems Laboratory

Electronic Circuits. Prof. Dr. Qiuting Huang Integrated Systems Laboratory Electronic Circuits Prof. Dr. Qiuting Huang 6. Transimpedance Amplifiers, Voltage Regulators, Logarithmic Amplifiers, Anti-Logarithmic Amplifiers Transimpedance Amplifiers Sensing an input current ii in

More information

Device Physics: The Bipolar Transistor

Device Physics: The Bipolar Transistor Monolithic Amplifier Circuits: Device Physics: The Bipolar Transistor Chapter 4 Jón Tómas Guðmundsson tumi@hi.is 2. Week Fall 2010 1 Introduction In analog design the transistors are not simply switches

More information

SOME USEFUL NETWORK THEOREMS

SOME USEFUL NETWORK THEOREMS APPENDIX D SOME USEFUL NETWORK THEOREMS Introduction In this appendix we review three network theorems that are useful in simplifying the analysis of electronic circuits: Thévenin s theorem Norton s theorem

More information

55:041 Electronic Circuits The University of Iowa Fall Exam 2

55:041 Electronic Circuits The University of Iowa Fall Exam 2 Exam 2 Name: Score /60 Question 1 One point unless indicated otherwise. 1. An engineer measures the (step response) rise time of an amplifier as t r = 0.35 μs. Estimate the 3 db bandwidth of the amplifier.

More information

Lecture 37: Frequency response. Context

Lecture 37: Frequency response. Context EECS 05 Spring 004, Lecture 37 Lecture 37: Frequency response Prof J. S. Smith EECS 05 Spring 004, Lecture 37 Context We will figure out more of the design parameters for the amplifier we looked at in

More information

EE 435. Lecture 22. Offset Voltages

EE 435. Lecture 22. Offset Voltages EE 435 Lecture Offset Voltages . Review from last lecture. Offset Voltage Definition: The input-referred offset voltage is the differential dc input voltage that must be applied to obtain the desired output

More information

Homework 6 Solutions and Rubric

Homework 6 Solutions and Rubric Homework 6 Solutions and Rubric EE 140/40A 1. K-W Tube Amplifier b) Load Resistor e) Common-cathode a) Input Diff Pair f) Cathode-Follower h) Positive Feedback c) Tail Resistor g) Cc d) Av,cm = 1/ Figure

More information

Electronic Devices and Circuits Lecture 18 - Single Transistor Amplifier Stages - Outline Announcements. Notes on Single Transistor Amplifiers

Electronic Devices and Circuits Lecture 18 - Single Transistor Amplifier Stages - Outline Announcements. Notes on Single Transistor Amplifiers 6.012 Electronic Devices and Circuits Lecture 18 Single Transistor Amplifier Stages Outline Announcements Handouts Lecture Outline and Summary Notes on Single Transistor Amplifiers Exam 2 Wednesday night,

More information

University of Pittsburgh

University of Pittsburgh University of Pittsburgh Experiment #8 Lab Report The Bipolar Junction Transistor: Characteristics and Models Submission Date: 11/6/2017 Instructors: Dr. Minhee Yun John Erickson Yanhao Du Submitted By:

More information

D is the voltage difference = (V + - V - ).

D is the voltage difference = (V + - V - ). 1 Operational amplifier is one of the most common electronic building blocks used by engineers. It has two input terminals: V + and V -, and one output terminal Y. It provides a gain A, which is usually

More information

Electronic Circuits. Transistor Bias Circuits. Manar Mohaisen Office: F208 Department of EECE

Electronic Circuits. Transistor Bias Circuits. Manar Mohaisen Office: F208   Department of EECE lectronic ircuits Transistor Bias ircuits Manar Mohaisen Office: F208 mail: manar.subhi@kut.ac.kr Department of Review of the Precedent Lecture Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT) BJT haracteristics and

More information

Mod. Sim. Dyn. Sys. Amplifiers page 1

Mod. Sim. Dyn. Sys. Amplifiers page 1 AMPLIFIERS A circuit containing only capacitors, amplifiers (transistors) and resistors may resonate. A circuit containing only capacitors and resistors may not. Why does amplification permit resonance

More information

Half-circuit incremental analysis techniques

Half-circuit incremental analysis techniques 6.012 Electronic Devices and Circuits Lecture 19 Differential Amplifier Stages Outline Announcements Handouts Lecture Outline and Summary Design Problem out tomorrow in recitation Review Singletransistor

More information

Lecture 050 Followers (1/11/04) Page ECE Analog Integrated Circuits and Systems II P.E. Allen

Lecture 050 Followers (1/11/04) Page ECE Analog Integrated Circuits and Systems II P.E. Allen Lecture 5 Followers (1/11/4) Page 51 LECTURE 5 FOLLOWERS (READING: GHLM 344362, AH 221226) Objective The objective of this presentation is: Show how to design stages that 1.) Provide sufficient output

More information

Lecture 35 - Bipolar Junction Transistor (cont.) November 27, Current-voltage characteristics of ideal BJT (cont.)

Lecture 35 - Bipolar Junction Transistor (cont.) November 27, Current-voltage characteristics of ideal BJT (cont.) 6.720J/3.43J - Integrated Microelectronic Devices - Fall 2002 Lecture 35-1 Lecture 35 - Bipolar Junction Transistor (cont.) November 27, 2002 Contents: 1. Current-voltage characteristics of ideal BJT (cont.)

More information

The current source. The Active Current Source

The current source. The Active Current Source V ref + - The current source Minimum noise euals: Thevenin Norton = V ref DC current through resistor gives an increase of /f noise (granular structure) Accuracy of source also determined by the accuracy

More information

Mod. Sim. Dyn. Sys. Amplifiers page 1

Mod. Sim. Dyn. Sys. Amplifiers page 1 AMPLIFIERS A circuit containing only capacitors, amplifiers (transistors) and resistors may resonate. A circuit containing only capacitors and resistors may not. Why does amplification permit resonance

More information

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics Bode Plot Review High Frequency BJT Model

ESE319 Introduction to Microelectronics Bode Plot Review High Frequency BJT Model Bode Plot Review High Frequency BJT Model 1 Logarithmic Frequency Response Plots (Bode Plots) Generic form of frequency response rational polynomial, where we substitute jω for s: H s=k sm a m 1 s m 1

More information

Electronic Circuits 1. Transistor Devices. Contents BJT and FET Characteristics Operations. Prof. C.K. Tse: Transistor devices

Electronic Circuits 1. Transistor Devices. Contents BJT and FET Characteristics Operations. Prof. C.K. Tse: Transistor devices Electronic Circuits 1 Transistor Devices Contents BJT and FET Characteristics Operations 1 What is a transistor? Three-terminal device whose voltage-current relationship is controlled by a third voltage

More information

Bipolar junction transistors

Bipolar junction transistors Bipolar junction transistors Find parameters of te BJT in CE configuration at BQ 40 µa and CBQ V. nput caracteristic B / µa 40 0 00 80 60 40 0 0 0, 0,5 0,3 0,35 0,4 BE / V Output caracteristics C / ma

More information

Operational amplifiers (Op amps)

Operational amplifiers (Op amps) Operational amplifiers (Op amps) Recall the basic two-port model for an amplifier. It has three components: input resistance, Ri, output resistance, Ro, and the voltage gain, A. v R o R i v d Av d v Also

More information

Engineering 1620 Spring 2011 Answers to Homework # 4 Biasing and Small Signal Properties

Engineering 1620 Spring 2011 Answers to Homework # 4 Biasing and Small Signal Properties Engineering 60 Spring 0 Answers to Homework # 4 Biasing and Small Signal Properties.).) The in-band Thevenin equivalent source impedance is the parallel combination of R, R, and R3. ( In-band implies the

More information

EE 230 Lecture 31. THE MOS TRANSISTOR Model Simplifcations THE Bipolar Junction TRANSISTOR

EE 230 Lecture 31. THE MOS TRANSISTOR Model Simplifcations THE Bipolar Junction TRANSISTOR EE 23 Lecture 3 THE MOS TRANSISTOR Model Simplifcations THE Bipolar Junction TRANSISTOR Quiz 3 Determine I X. Assume W=u, L=2u, V T =V, uc OX = - 4 A/V 2, λ= And the number is? 3 8 5 2? 6 4 9 7 Quiz 3

More information

DEPARTMENT OF ECE UNIT VII BIASING & STABILIZATION AMPLIFIER:

DEPARTMENT OF ECE UNIT VII BIASING & STABILIZATION AMPLIFIER: UNIT VII IASING & STAILIZATION AMPLIFIE: - A circuit that increases the amplitude of given signal is an amplifier - Small ac signal applied to an amplifier is obtained as large a.c. signal of same frequency

More information